Life: engagement post

in #engage6 years ago (edited)

So one of the many reasons I was enticed by the SteemIt platform (besides my interest in blockchain and crypto technology) was the potential for more honest & quality engagement. Rather than the superficial social interaction we get when attention and monetary rewards walk hand in hand we get to start and maintain a platform run by the actual people for our personal benefit.

Rewarding content of posts and allowing the members of the platform to be the controllers of what is deemed acceptable. So with that model in mind I wanted to try an engagement post since I post a lot of poetry I figure a lot of my followers are fellow creatives and would like to see how your mind interprets this excerpt from "State of nothing" a lecture by British philosopher, writer, and speaker Alan Watts.

Some background before we jump in I've been experiencing an existential crisis of sorts where I feel trapped between my job and where I feel life is taking me. The fear and anxiety ingrained in us through societal expectations and the preordained guidelines for a happy life, is something I am learning is a deep unlearning process. I can't wrap my head around the linear way of thinking that makes so many people follow such copy and paste life paths.


dig deep.

To me Art is a byproduct of the experience of life with no expectations. It is a purity that flows from inside of yourself that reconnects you to nature who we are, in essence, one with. We are distinct from everything only due to our consciousness' ability to construct a being separate which makes us the creators of our own reality. These realities which so often causes us so much pain. We quite literally wake up everyday and step onto the hamster wheel chasing end goals established by traditions we can't name. Missing out on being. Nothingness, albeit riddled with negative connotations, is actually admirable in that with it we are free from expectations and free to pursue our passions and live every day presently.

So without further ado: Alan Watts

😄