You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media: In the End, It's All About Interaction and Engagement

in #engagement5 years ago (edited)

I think the worst thing for Steemit was the boom in crypto. The allure of easy money incentivised people to build bots and spam junk in an effort to get rich quick. The return to lower prices means less of that FOMO BS, and more human interaction.

Sort:  

Agreed! I think Steem would also have been better off if Steemit, Inc. had had the courage to "position" the currency more as a "utility coin" but that's evidently a "bad word" because utility coins tend to be boring and more stable... and not capable of going up 100-fold in 3 weeks.

"Everybody wants a crypto Lambo!"

Lambos are really exciting for a holiday weekend, and become a real pain in the ass when you have to start schlepping kids, and groceries and laundry around. But hey, unicorn sparkles are far more exciting than day-to-day reality...

I'm actually seeing some of that human interaction returning... and it's one of the few things that give me a little hope for the future of this place!

I have a Steemit-funded computer. It's more than I ever expected, to be honest.

Understood. Last year, I bought a set of tires for our truck with Steemit rewards and that was also far more than I ever figured I'd get in rewards.