How would you start to learn English if you had to?

in #english6 years ago (edited)

I am really interested in ways of learning languages. In particular English, since it is the most important one. However I struggled a lot, finding the best way how get to the modest Intermidiate level, trying many different approaches.

GettyImages-525409809-1--58e642ac5f9b58ef7e846d4a.jpg

I assume your answer on my question are sentences like :
-My name is Ann.
-I come from Ireland.
-I am 25 years old.
-How are you?

And I think that is the best approach. Learning whole sentences no matter how long they are. On top of that many teacher use this way of learning. Usually they repeat these few sentences loudly: "Children, how are you?" and we repeat "Fine" or "Good", depending on the vocabulary we have at that point. However, for some reason they stop using this approach and they usually start with teaching tenses, first Present Simple and Present Continous. And then you think "wait, is my current action long or not ", "should I say I am living here or I live here". And then problems come up. Ultimately, many just give up.

Reserches have shown that one should know 2000 words in order to have solid communication skills. That would be B1 level or so called Pre-Intermediate. I am sure that many of us tried to memorize hundreds of word, hoping that they be fluent if they succeeded to memorize. Unfortinately, many just don't succeed. On the other hand, those who memorize still can't speak fluently (here I mean only few sentences in a row).

Don't worry. Evertything is here, in your head, as long as you are present in the environment where English is spoken. Subconsciousness is the main source of our problems. Even though you can't speak you are learning English subconsciously, although you don't think so. One said 'When you start learning it seems like you make huge steps. At some point you start thinking that you don't learn anymore'. Well, don't worry, that just means you are on plateau, on the flat area, nothing happens.

1_zQN0UE8_pIGE1yupwHhsJQ.jpeg

So what we need to do in order to start speaking fluently?

My approach was learning whole sentences, that are used in Spoken English. Once you get better there, you will easily switch on Reading English.

How about this:

-That makes sense.
-I've just realized...
-How about going to the pool?
-What am I supposed to do now?
-At the time I could't even tell that it was going on.
...but I really didn't pay attention.
-You are kidding with me!
-You know, now looking back...

And for the end:
-I would have quit. I don’t know if I would still be doing it if I hadn’t met you.

Usually we are alredy familiar with these words, but there is no way that we could recall some of these in appropirate situations. Getting familiar rather with meaning, you get familiar with tenses and and their compitability in the sentence. We have just used Present Perfect Simple, combined '-ing' with preposition and many more things. After every sentence (no matter how long it was) you should be very proud on yourself. Also I think it is very bad approach forcing people to speak new language. Once they start thinking in that language they will begin willingly.

Also I used to write down whole conversations and then highlight with yellow marker parts that would be useful to know.

980x.jpg

I hope I didn't make many mistakes writing article about learning English, since I am still in the process of learning :D. Also if someone has any advice I would like to consider it, since I need a help as well. :)