You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ENGRAVE - first complete blogging platform built on top of Hive network

in #engrave5 years ago (edited)

I'm concerned with that 15% commission you guy's have decided upon. We creators are already paying 25% of steemit rewards to 'curators'...so, posting through @engrave would cost us 45% in total?

You certainly 'deserve' some form of compensation for your services, but 45% loss from rewards is too much for me to reconcile; especially since I use my blog predominantly for charitable causes. (paying it forward)

I'll be going to your site and perhaps sign up, but not sure I can handle the loss of revenue for my efforts. (I'd need to 'boost' a voting base by at least 15%, perhaps 'more') just to break even. Because even if we got a boost in vote value by 15%...we'd still loose 25% of that.

Best wishes to you. Have a happy day.

Sort:  

We creators are already paying 25% of steemit rewards to 'curators'.

Content producers receive rewards because "curators" allocate a portion of the rewards pool to them, not the other way around. The way you have expressed your ideas seem to imply that "creators" somehow give away income to the Steem Power holders (the people that actually give monetary value to the currency). It's exactly the opposite.

I might be incorrect but I think that the 15% beneficiary portion of the rewards applies only to the "author" portion of the payout. So 15% of 75% is equal to 11.25% of the total payout. The content producers end up with 63.75% of the total. If I am incorrect then the payout for the creators would be 60% (100 - 25 - 15 = 60).

Either way I think 15% is a fair amount considering the type of service that is being provided. Even more if you consider the fact that bloggers don't have to pay a cent to setup their blog.

Content producers receive rewards because "curators" allocate a portion of the rewards pool to them, not the other way around. The way you have expressed your ideas seem to imply that "creators" somehow give away income to the Steem Power holders (the people that actually give monetary value to the currency). It's exactly the opposite

Without 'content creators' posting their work on steemit, how would nodes/blocks be produced? Isn't that in a sense the 'birth/creation' of steem for the reward pool? (pow?)

The steem blockchain/front end projects, seem to be the equivalent of a business plan, raw materials, equipment, production set-up and space, administrators, support services etc. that a 'standard' business provides in order to begin producing a product? The 'workers' are the ones who 'produce' the end product in a typical capitalist enterprise. The 'content creators' here on steemit, are in a sense, a part of the labor pool.

Of course 'anyone' contributing 'work' by 'any' means here on steemit be it tech. support, sales, marketing etc....are 'workers' and deserve a 'fair' share of the rewards/profits brought into the pool.

Your math is correct as formulated into the selected equation. My 'addition' of 5% to the 40% loss of ultimate reward, was simply an attempt to cover the additional fees a content creator may loose through 'conversion' and 'transfer' (e.g. Blocktrades fees) and the 'dust' votes which are swiped clean at the time of payout (votes worth at or under .002)

I should have stipulated what the addition of 5% loss indicated previously, so I understand your not taking that factor into consideration with your response.

Anyway...my comment was 'not' an assault on 'engrave'
; merely a critique according to how I perceive it. (you might have noticed that, I wished them 'well') at the end of my comment?

Either way I think 15% is a fair amount considering the type of service that is being provided. Even more if you consider the fact that bloggers don't have to pay a cent to setup their blog.

You are certainly entitled to your own opinion regarding what you think is 'fair' or not...but, most members/users/creators here on steemit seem to be dismayed already with the value of their work 'not' being what they had hoped for in relationship to their time 'spent' participating. It is a major reason for our loss of past contributors...

I don't comment in an effort to begin a personal debate or 'lengthy' dialog; that is not how I choose to spend my 'time' which I place a 'value' upon....but, I am comfortable with your input/opinions.

Should you choose to continue this conversation, I prefer 'others' to join in who may understand the math and inner workings a bit better than you or I do. Engagement can be helpful for the blockchain.

I may choose to create a post of my own regarding 'engrave' to solicit opinions and assessments, free of my 'own' thoughts, and of course...exercising our right to 'Free Speech'

Regards to you @onthewayout . Have a healthy and happy day.

Without 'content creators' posting their work on steemit, how would nodes/blocks be produced? Isn't that in a sense the 'birth/creation' of steem for the reward pool? (pow?)

Blocks would still be produced even if no content were to be published. Content producers are not essential for the blockchain to function (technically speaking). However without them the distribution of the currency would be very limited.

Consider the exposure, the push notifications, and how isolated steemit is from the mass population of the internet. Social media is expected to add 10 million users by 2020. Shockingly, look at my 'bank holdings' at
http://www.evolvedmoney.xyz and steem showed up with the majority of income produced. It all might be small now, but I remember when bitcoin was a fraction of a penny, then less than a dime, it'll never reach a quarter, no way it will be worth $1. Listen to the podcasts linked on EvolvedMoney.xyz and everyone could be wrong, bitcoin could crash to zero, but ten years out, I feel wealthy already.

I think that I have 'considered' all of what you mentioned @coothingssite ...and that does 'not' change my assessment/critique...of which, was not an assault nor an attack on 'engrave', steemit, steem or sbd...

Actually, what sparked the comment was one by @berniesanders to be honest with you. He may have been crass with his remark, but he 'chooses' to voice his opinions in whatever way 'he' chooses, which is his 'right' to do so; if you 'value' Free Speech like 'I' and many others do...I give Bernie 'credit' for not bending to the whims of NWO's brainwashed and dumbed-down puppets/pawns.

You are free and entitled to voice your opinion @coolthingssite ; except for places like China, Britain, Germany and some others, which have taken away that right from you...and a 'growing' trend in the world these days.

Thanks for the blockchain, and thank 'you' for commenting (freely)

Have a peaceful day. Cheers

P.S. I would have up-voted you, but I see that you 'already' self-voted your 'own' comment...

Steemit is a mysterious mansion, I don't hardly understand powering up, resource credits or knew that upvoting your own comment was bad form. I am all ears on how everything works and what is the best way(quality content, I got that much!) to earn some steem 'money'. I guess I should be happy with $4.9M I found in my wallet this morning but until I take it out of the ATM it just doesn't seem real to me.

The screenshot......now it is PRICELESS and I'm looking forward to all those that ask me what a bitcoin is and what mining is, well, I'll think of something. Speaking of which, I've looked and searched, and found nothing yet, is there a good way somebody with an average computer can do some CPU mining and generate some steem?

I don't hardly understand powering up, resource credits or knew that upvoting your own comment was bad form.

I'm sure that most would agree with giving new people a break here for acting in a manner that they might not agree with; so don't sweat it too much @coolthingssite .

Some steemians frown upon self-voting in comments, some frown upon self-votes on any post, but it is 'allowed' according to the rules of stinc. So, you are free to choose what path you want.

My sarcastic remark about not voting you 'up' was mostly due to 'you' not having the courtesy to cast a small up-vote for the comment you were responding too...yet, cast one for yourself...(appears selfish) ???

Anyway, your suggesting what to consider in a potentially positive light about this new (paid for) service, was already taken into consideration by me. My thoughts/opinion remain unchanged.

Some may feel it's beneficial for them, others may not...it's very simple.

Have a wonderful day.