Helping Hands: Monthly Delegation April 2020

in #engrave4 years ago (edited)

a kiwibloke project

Using PeakD's listing feature, I made a list of all the newcomers I come across on #hive who have little or no Hive Power. I usually come across the users via @heyhaveyamet, @theterminal, #myhiveintro or #introduceyourself. After I read one or two posts, I decide whether I would support this person by delegating them 25HP's.
This list feature, means I can monitor them every month as I can instantly see there current HP (without my delegation) and the last time they uploaded a post. At what point do I stop delegating, when they reach 25HP on their own. It takes 7 days to recover the 25HP which really isn't that important.
A little project of mine that allows me to give back to the blockchain, requires very little effort on my part and only involves a small amount of reading time.

APRIL 2020

April has been an HUGE month, the FORK, the PANDEMIC, the LOCKDOWN, value of HIVE took a wonderful small pump, let's hope next month brings more unexpected experiences, good and bad.
  • with every post comes experience, as we all strive to do better.
  • curate/up vote, let's encourage and inspire each other.
  • as always, thank you for viewing my post.


Follow Me on Engrave
staying active


Originally posted on Staying Active Body and Mind. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

How is that possible to have zero HP? While the system delegates some (I forgot how much) directly to newcomers.

Depends on how the account is made ... like the obvious methods through hive.io. Or you can purchase Account Creation tokens paid with resource credits or 3Hive, then create an account for a friend. I currently have 4 tokens in my account as shown in the PeakD screen capture. I usually buy 2 a month and hold on to them in case a friend or 2 wishes to join up.

Screenshot_20200430_214929 ticket.png

I decide how much HIVE and/or HP I send to this account after it's creation. If it was for a friend I'd probably send them 10 HIVE and delegate 100 Hive Power to get them started. I see quite a few new accounts with 0 Hive 0 HP.

That was a really good question!

I did register with the standard free verification procedure and waiting in line something like 2-3 days on Steem/Steemit. Then I had around 15 or 25 delegated SP to get started. Honestly, learning all that crypto stuff was quite challenging, complicated for me. Still not a pro here. But, AFAIK, there is no point to produce accounts with 0 HP, they won't can post/vote/comment anything.

Let's say you run a community, and offer your members (who doesn't have the HIVE or RC) free Hive Accounts for anyone they recruit. You create an account and they join, what is important at this stage, you reserve an account name. How they get started can be decided by anyone really.

zreo hp

Even at 0hp they can still comment, vote, initiate transfers.
BTW ... I love hiveblocks.com

I didn’t quite catch it rereading your post. I’m uncertain what happened under the hive.blue signup, but is it possible for me to make an account l (instantly) otherwise? I don’t think I can buy an account creation token just yet, but I have enough liquid HIVE for the 3HIVE fee. A nudge in the right direction would do wonders..!

For steem use SteemWorld

Screenshot_20200501_092347 SteemAcc.png

For Hive use BeeMe https://beeme.icu/?account=yourname

Screenshot_20200501_092523 HiveAcc.png

You can keep claiming/buying Account Tickets, they last forever on your account, when you are ready just create a new account.

Tips

  • use any frontend to see if account name is free .. eg
    • https://hiveblocks.com/@iwantanewaccountnowplease
  • save all the keys, I repeat, save the keys, last time save those damn keys
    • when or if you pass the account over, tell the person you're passing the account to, save the keys. Then at some stage they can change passwords that only they get to know, once again tell them to save those damn keys.

Screenshot_20200501_093556 ChangePass.png

Damn! I should've made a whole post about this subject LoL, creating instant accounts is fun.

Crypto Rule #1: if it is NOT your keys, it is NOT your coins!

Don't lose your keys!