Chronicles of a DoorDash Driver, Vol 1

in #entrepreneur2 years ago (edited)

Volume one:

Let’s start with some good ol’ facts!

DoorDash was founded in 2013 and now has businesses in 27 countries. In 2021, there were approximately 1.39 billion consumers orders completed, globally. Dashers earned 11 billion, globally. That is a lot of money and a lot of orders.

Source - https://about.doordash.com/en-us/impact/policy-research

As for me..

In early 2022 I was working as a preschool teacher at a private school. I wasn’t making much money and I wasn’t happy. The job itself was rewarding, but the staff was insufferable. There was too much drama and it wasn’t an easy job to do. Long hours and not much pay. So, I started looking for other means of employment. The small town I live in does not offer much for employment. I searched for a while before I decided to give DoorDash a try. I figured it would at least give me some money while I continued to look for other employment. That was in August of 2022. I have since stopped looking for other employment and I Dash full time now.

In the beginning of this dashing adventure, I had very little information to go on. I had watched a few videos and read the emails that DoorDash sent out. I knew of a few people that had done it and they gave me a few tips. Since then, I have learned a lot about the ins and outs as a driver and I want to share them with you.

If DoorDash is something you are considering, then stay tuned. I will be giving detailed information on all the ups, downs, tips and tricks for drivers and for customers.

Let’s start with the basics for drivers. I will be going into further detail later on, but for now, basics.

After you download the app and complete the registration, you will need to submit a background check before you can actually start working. The registration process is pretty simple and it is pretty self explanatory. It will ask you about your location, your vehicle, license, insurance, and payment method (usually a direct deposit into a bank to start with). When you are all finished with that, you should be able to click the Dash Now button or schedule a time to do a Dash. Once you complete your first order you will be sent a welcome package that has a Red Card, thermal bag, a face mask, and hand sanitizer.

I will be adding more information on completing orders in the next volume.

As soon as you can, sign up for the Dasher Direct for payments. This will give you a debit card that allows you to get paid the same day that you work. It could take a little while to complete this, so make sure you have a payment method saved on file.

In your settings, under account, choose your preferred mapping/gps service, I use google maps. Then be sure to allow notifications for promotional things. Also, unclick Cash on Delivery option. This is a headache you do not want, ever. On your profile, you can opt into or out of the Red Card system. This is where they will send you card you can use that is preloaded for orders, that will be completed at places like CVS, Dollar General, etc. In my experience, this is a waste of time and causes headaches. I “lost” my Red Card and never activated a new one. However, if you choose to have this option, it is a way to earn more money.

Here are a few items I recommend (that are not given to you as a driver) that make Dashing easier.

  1. A cleaning caddy that servers as a drink holder. This caddy can hold 8 large drinks from fast food places like Taco Bell, Burger King, etc. This caddy can sit on your floorboard, leaving your passenger or rear seats available for your thermal bag (hot bag). Found here
  2. Hand sanitizer wipes. Yes, you can still use the liquid or spray for your hands, but these wipes are wonderful for your steering wheel, gear shift, door handle, etc. Found here.
  3. A catering bag for large orders. This will be required if you want to accept catering orders. It is a large thermal bag that holds a lot. I keep mine in my trunk until I need to use it. Found here.
  4. A car phone mount. This helps with being able to see your phone at a glance. Found here.

In the next volume I will be going into detail about types of orders and how to complete an order. I hope this information has been helpful. If there is anything else you’d like me to discuss on this topic, let me know.

DD.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @nerdygeekyfreak! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you!

You're welcome @nerdygeekyfreak, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍