How to Free EOS Tokens from Metamask and other issues

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

Here are a few tips if you woke up and cannot find your EOS tokens; although I am no expert (Sandwich is amazing in this area). Here are the steps that I took when all my fields were blank but etherscan showed that my transaction went through. I have no idea if all of these are necessary, but it worked.

Check to make sure that you actually generated EOS keys and it is attached to a wallet that can house tokens. Tutorial to check and see if your ETH account is connected to your EOS key: https://steemit.com/eos/@sandwich/how-to-check-which-eos-public-key-is-mapped-to-your-eth-address-with-myetherwallet-mew

First, make sure that you had enough ETH in your account to generate gas when you generated EOS keys during the crowdfund (sadly, I overlooked this as I had too many accounts in Parity and did not realize it chose the wrong one). If not, no stress, you can just generate new keys now. If that happened, the tokens may have landed in Metamask, in which case, you can easily transport them into MEW. Make sure that there is now an EOS key attached to your Metamask ETH address, then use the claim all function in MEW, double check to make sure that your transaction went through at the crowdfund (etherscan), add the token in the tab inside Metamask with the contract address:

Token Address: 0x86fa049857e0209aa7d9e616f7eb3b3b78ecfdb0
Decimals: 18
Symbol: EOS

If I didn't mention it early, make sure all your ETH accounts are funded with ETH at all times...eye roll....I'll never do that again.
Now, you should see the tokens inside Metamask, on the tokens tab.

Go to MEW: send ether & tokens tab. Choose either the Private Key or Mnemonic Phrase to enter. Your private key is available if you click on the little key inside Metamask and then enter your password. You got the Mnemonic Phrase when you first set up Metamask. Either one will work when you go to MEW because they are part of Ethereum. Once you open MEW with your Metamask Private key or Mnemonic, you will be able to move your tokens into your MEW account. And....if you still haven't generated an EOS key, better do it now.

One last thing: keep track of all keys you may have used. When I changed over, my keys from Metamask changed to keys I had assigned to the MEW address. I am saving them all on the chance that when EOS goes live, the keys may be different.

Sort:  

....everything went fine . . . got the EOS claimed the EOS moved EOS to Metamask credit of EOS appeared. . . . . but since today metamask does NOT start even after complete reboot. . . .searching for network...->> see picture below. Has anyone an idea??? all my network runs well, no AVG ecetera running. chrome works fine eos.io ecetera works fine - just Metamask ...searching for network

my last rpc in metamask was http://rpc.makerdao.com:7777
metamask-stuck.jpg

Did you check your account in etherscan and see if the EOS tokens are attached to either that Metamask ETH address or the Mist/Parity address? If so, you can try to make sure that Parity or Mist is running, make sure that the network isn't overloaded, try reloading a few times. If it still isn't working, try directly claiming through MEW and see if that works.

Thank you for the reply! Etherscan says all EOS arrived in my wallet. I can switch my metamask now to etherum network and wallet works again. but rpc.makerdao.com:7777 is stuck and EOS distribution app worked only with metamask by using this rpc.makerdao.com:7777 but NOT with standart ethereum network

I had a similar issue. I ended up importing all tokens into my MEW address with the Metamask private key and they are resting there now happily.

Perfect. Thanks for that. You just helped me with my metamask wallet :)

Congratulations @blubeast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have the problem of not finding any EOS Tokens in my Metamask wallet. When I check Etherscan I see that claiming the tokens and transfer have been done successfully to my Metamask adress. I have filled the contract adress etc in order to add the token in the wallet but no tokens are found. I contacted Metamask and they respond "We are very sorry, but EOS has neglected to give us any information about their token sale mechanics so we are unable to be of any real assistance with managing your tokens in this case." Do anyone have an idea about how to solve this issue? EOS support seems to be non-existing? Or, is it actually no problem, I will be able to get my EOS in the end anyhow as long as I have both EOS keys and Ether wallet keys?

Check for these things: Does your Metamask have more than one account associated with it? Are you on the Main Network? If you have tried all this, I would recommend using the Mnemonic Phrase you got from Metamask when you click on the little key and then use it in Myetherwallet to access your address. Then you should be able to move your tokens around without Metamask.

Welcome @bluebeast. I hope you enjoy here as much as I do! Nice post, I will follow your account, please follow me at @rohitrajput.