Book Burning!! Not In America??

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

bookburn.jpg

Hey, that would be contrary to the first amendment, and we don't do that here. This is The United States of America!

True. Well, Sorta True...

The government's NCBI ClinVar database lists 49,047 genetic variations that are pathogenic to humans. (pathogenic means causing disease or capable of causing disease).

Here is a headline from a FDA Press Release April 6, 2017:

FDA allows marketing of first direct-to-consumer tests that provide genetic risk information for certain conditions
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration today allowed marketing of 23andMe Personal Genome Service Genetic Health Risk (GHR) tests for 10 diseases or conditions.

And in case you were thinking that 49,047 genetic variants could somehow only equal 10 diseases worth knowing about, another FDA Press Release from March 6, 2018:

FDA authorizes, with special controls, direct-to-consumer test that reports three mutations in the BRCA breast cancer genes
Test only reports 3 out of more than 1,000 known BRCA mutations and negative result doesn’t rule out increased cancer risk

Please read the sentence above one more time. No one is burning books here. They just are NOT ALLOWED TO BE WRITTEN – if those books are about YOU. Note: this isn't an injection we are talking about - it's information

I've spent the last couple of years and much of my retirement savings working out a way to help you get your DNA securely on the blockchain, and to get you real reports on what's in your DNA that are about as easy to censor as Bitcoin is stoppable. So far we've been able to raise $447.86. Last week we joined a competition to raise awareness about our project and raise some funds if we win. To qualify and get a chance to compete we need likes on a video about the project. So far we have 32 likes.

Then We Have CryptoKitties:
“ On March 20, 2018, it was announced that CryptoKitties would be spun off into its own company and raised $12 million...Genesis, the first and highest selling cat was sold for $117,712 USD on that day... Ethereum miners increased the gas limit in response to CryptoKitties, which allowed for more data per block and increasing transactions per second.”

Increase the gas limit? Pretty popular....not anything like our “ugly project".

You don't have to buy our tokens to secure your DNA on the blockchain and join a free and open community to help decipher your data, and even get help to change the DNA in your body if you want to. You don't even need bother to give a thumbs up to our EOS competition video that will maybe give us a chance at making this project succeed.

After all, It's a free country - you can do whatever you want and CryptoKitties are FUN...... (at least for now).

Humbly & Urgently Asking for Your Help,
Greg Simpson
Founder / CEO
Adult Genetic Editing, Inc.

References:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/variation/view
https://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/Newsroom/PressAnnouncements/ucm551185.htm
https://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/Newsroom/PressAnnouncements/ucm599560.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CryptoKitties

Sort:  

good

Your project sound very interesting as it might help people get ahead of a lot of diseases. My concern with DNA is often privacy and how DNA can and will be used in the future. Just an example no trying to exaggerate but we are already reading on the possible creation of targeted weapons. Who is to say some "Hitler" will not rise to power in the future and use DNA to wipe a race from the planet.

Scientifically? Absolutely nothing would prevent prevent someone from doing that. Furthermore, it would be exceedingly simple to pre-edit the "chosen ones" so the delivery virus would bounce off them. There's a 17-minute video on the about us page of our website where I discuss our plan for privacy and security and why the blockchain needs to get ahead of centralized authorities and quickly. If we were to sit together in person we could have a conversation on that late into the night on that topic. Thank you for your comment (and hopefully your YouTube Vote).
Greg

I think they just used DNA from Ancestry.com to catch the Golden State killer did they not? The next step I worry about is your insurance company using your DNA to charge you more or less based on your families DNA analysis and and predisposition to disease/illness.

the first time I heard of this, but is possible!

In a video here I walk though a bit of the Terms and Conditions of a popular DNA sequencing service (See ~2:40 of the 17-min video). Clearly we don't need to worry about that, since the service makes people browsing DNA promise they're not insurance companies or employers seeking DNA information about people they are involved with.

The only book that should be burned is a book that tell you to burn books ^

We ain't burning books in Merica' dude

Love that. I did not even know there was a Merica'. But it made the google dictionary - it must be real.
[update]
Just read a bit of your Blog.... but I started at the bottom (way back) You're very good at what you do. Following.

weird how you jumped from this topic to cryptokitties...Lol...

A lot of people follow you. Thank you for your comment.

Hey @, great post! GOOD
I enjoy your content Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see nice content on Steemit! :)

Concordo com ele, esta fazendo um ótimo trabalho !

Thank your for your kind support @boyhaqi97 ! Hopefully we got you to give a thumbs up to our brief video, and help us get attention from people who can make this project happen.

(You'll have to click the YouTube Link to get to the like).

ok, i'll see it next time if i'm interested ,, as long as the project is safe

this is very good post..i like this post. thank you for your post.thank you very much your good post. I want same post future.thank you.

so nice your post.i like this post. thank you.

Unbelievable

Wow .....is that so???

Wow. This hit me outta nowhere... What an intriguing concept..

I would take issue with one claim being made in your post: namely, there is a difference between something not being written at all and, you just not being permitted to read it (at least not at a given time). I see it as akin to someone (specifically a private individual; i.e., not a government agent) writing an in-depth report or file on someone else and not letting the latter read it. Or at least not in its entirety.

And if I'm reading the above correctly, the subject in question, or, "consumer," will be acutely aware of exactly what and how the tests and its results will be conducted. In other words: it seems contradictory to compel a private organization--with whom one has, ostensibly, entered into "business" with--to provide x,y,z information. (though perhaps this would be more like the business saying: "*We'd love to give you the info, but Big Brother says we can't..." This does seem strange, the more I look at it.)

I guess the more I think about it, the more I can see the importance of what you are trying to do here... Hmm.. very interesting.

I fear you might be a bit "ahead of you time" here, too, unfortunately, @dna-with-greg... This is some pretty heavy stuff, and kind of scary!! But obviously this is not something you just started working on yesterday. I'm glad you are bringing up this discussion. Great, great work here... Following!

Thank you for your thoughtful comment! Not sure I made any claims, at least not any easily verified with the references... but yes... it's heavy stuff for sure. I'll refer again to the 17-minute video on our website (maybe not quite so scary after watching that?). The equipment on the table behind me in the video is everything I would need to accurately read all 3-Billion base pairs of your DNA, and advise you about any of the known DNA conditions (good or bad) found in your DNA. Of course, simply telling you that stuff that would be against FDA reporting regulations. The references are there. No need to take my word for it - the FDA comes right out and says it themselves.

"(The Allowed) Test only reports 3 out of more than 1,000 known BRCA mutations and negative result doesn’t rule out increased cancer risk"

Who would object (loose) most if you changed your DNA to avoid developing a disease?
When & how was the FDA founded?
What foundation paid for it?
What other groups does that foundation fund or own?
Who was Fritz ter Meer?
What codex did he champion?
This goes way deeper than you know.

I didn't say you personally, I said your post made a claim, which, it definitely does. Perhaps "declaration" would suit better. I also read your "sources," which, I must say you took a bit of liberty with... Again, as I said before, there is a big difference between your analogue of the FDA to the Nazis burning books because the FDA will "not allow" one's specific DNA profile "to be written," and just not writing it at all... No one is under obligation to provide you with your genetic coding !! (Hey, you, doc; yeah, write me up my genetic code real quick. No? You Nazi!!...). Not saying the FDA isn't doing these things, but, from the "evidence" you provided... I'm not seeing it. You're like me... Take one little shred and run with it :) (And just to my defense, I do have a graduate degree so, I'm no stranger to reading and research ;) . From what I saw, the alleged "censorship" of our genetic coding is just not there. These articles don't seem to show (to me) quite what you say they do... They merely say they DO NOT TEST for x,y,z. Again, very different from "We have tested for xyz, are aware of xyz, and just won't tell you Which seems to be the "declaration" you are making. (Again, I guess you could draw from this info the guess [unless you have some privileged info] that the FDA "told 23 and me not to test for the variants". Article just says they don't do it. Doesn't say why from what I could see... (On that note, might I suggest utilizing some other reference form, such as MLA or Chicago which allows the reader to actually locate the references in-page, so to speak? Much better with such sensitive topics, imo...)

On that note, tho, I will say I didn't quite understand the point of the ncbi link... could you perhaps explicate that for me? Is it just a picture of human DNA or "variants?" (Sorry, I was a psychology major ;)

That being said, I do think you're idea is very interesting and creative, and admittedly beyond my scope of expertise. But I can still read, which I will be doing more of now, to "investigate" some of the FDA's history, etc.

Again, I see it like this: A private company is being told by the Gov that they can't do something: namely, test for certain genes (not not reveal said results... that's Different--). For all we know, the FDA found some "problem" with 23and Me's testing for those variants; the results aren't accurate, what have you.

You know, kind of like the issues I'm sure which might come up if you wanted to... idk, turn me into a purple, furry, tailed creature, like one of your advertisements suggests... Interesting, but, I'm sure it's just not as "easy" as... x,y,z.

Loading...

I apologize for the second reply. Go here: https://web.archive.org/ input the 23andMe site and roll it back 10 years. count the reports you were ALLOWED to receive. Then look at today's product offering. Google "court fda 23andme" see what you find. Or go read our whitepaper: https://adultgeneticediting.com/downloads it more or less walks you though it.

Do you suppose the science got dumber in a decade?

Burn books? Why something where people scream much better when you burn. You can take the green or the red pill, no matter which pack you want to run after, but unfortunately there are always people who think their own decisions are worth nothing

Thank you for reminding me. I was very young, but alive during the 60's. People had voices then, and were less afraid. Your using the word "pack" got me thinking..... Maybe I should have named the project: "The Sheep Fang & Claw Genetic Mod Project"? Thank you for your comment (and I'm guessing your vote as well).

sheep.png

Too Much? Probably. I don't like to make jokes at other's expense. I apologize if anyone was non-plused. Life can be difficult, and we are taught distractions are the answer. There's a reason our movie stars and sports heroes are so well paid and looked up to. Distractions, like being the first on your block with the new iPhone, keep us from seeing what's really going on. That was my intended point in bringing up the kitties.

super sir dna with greg i like it thanx you steemit

Thank you for your kind words. You have a good eye. I like the art you've chosen to post....and your're a real person. Steem on my Friend. Steem on!

very good image

Thank You I used gimp to merge the tigers fangs with the sheep.... 2 images, zoom in to 400% - not hard.

me gusta mucho tu información... es muy buena!!!!

Thank you for your kindness @x-ander

amazing

Las distracciones, nos impiden ver lo que realmente está pasando. Coincidimos estimado @dna-with-greg
Ajz naka logo post final - copia - copia.jpg

"Distractions prevent us from seeing what is really happening. We agree"

Thank you for your support. (Since others might be distracted - you should vote twice ;)

wow usa is completely crazy,another dimension

95٪ of our problem is that people don't read book and they make fun of those who do the reading and call them geek. i belive that ‍we should read book at least 1h a day

I agree 100%. I used to get teased and called "Mr. Dictionary" as a kid.

Thanks for sharing. I resteemed your post.

Thank you for that!! Every bit helps get the word out there - Keep on Steemin!

https://www.icoweb.com

  • Top Quality ICO Listing and Ranking Review
    -Basic and Advanced Crypto Charts
    -Crypto Portfolio to monitor your current financial standing.
    -Crypto Email Alerts
    -Live stream of Coin Prices for over 1500 Cryptocurrencies
    -Live News Updates
    -Blockchain Exlorer to track all of your transactions.

https://www.icoweb.com
https://twitter.com/ICOWebNews/
https://t.me/ICOWebAlert

https://www.icoweb.com

  • Top Quality ICO Listing and Ranking Review
    -Basic and Advanced Crypto Charts
    -Crypto Portfolio to monitor your current financial standing.
    -Crypto Email Alerts
    -Live stream of Coin Prices for over 1500 Cryptocurrencies
    -Live News Updates
    -Blockchain Exlorer to track all of your transactions.

https://www.icoweb.com
https://twitter.com/ICOWebNews/
https://t.me/ICOWebAlert

your post is very interesting, good vibes for you

Thanks for your Vibes!!! (feeling it)

Super cool project! It is important that we figure out what makes us up! We only understand what less than 2% of out DNA is used for! That leaves another 98% to be studied! The move people who work on this the closer we get to understanding what makes us tick and maybe how to much us live much longer and healthier lives.

Thank you for your comment. Lot's of work to do for sure - but it needs to be done in a way that insures privacy - without that, it's a tool do dominate and destroy.

Your project sounds incredibly interesting to me, I'd be really interested to see how the technology is used and the outcome of it weather good or bad

Thank you for your comment. We couldn't agree more. If we're able to keep this tech decentralized I beleive we have a good shot at a good outcome. Cheers!