You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Next for EOS, ETH, and BTC?

in #eos3 years ago

I must admit to being a bit suspicious about your motives for starting to post on Hive, but that was a really interesting post, and I have followed you to see more.

A post explaining your motivations would be of interest too!

Sort:  

Why is another person's motives your issue? (asking as a friend)

lol... Seriously though, he wrote his thoughts for whatever reason, either you appreciate them or not.

Why do people act like Hive is something you have to marry to use and be loyal... It's a blockchain not your girlfriend. :)

You of all people (another old timer with a long history on Steemit) know why I have reason to ask!

Every person I interact with, I do my best to mentally assemble all the info I have on them (yes including you) - I'd be surprised if you weren't doing the same.

For example, your default position is to avoid taking a firm side, and to almost always post as if you are equally open to two opposing positions. Sometimes that may include buy and sell or Steemit and Hive.

I often watch that perplexed - for example when I'm trading cryptos I say nothing until I have bought, and then I'm 100% bull. Until I decide it's almost time to sell, when I go quiet until I've sold. Once sold I'm 100% bear, because I actively want the coin to crash so I can buy it back cheap. I know we are all just specs of dust on Hive and we make almost no difference to the market, but that is my psychology.

With Steemit I started out very keen, but after three years I was mad as hell with the site and actually came to hate it. And part of what I was mad at was the people who originally set it up, as I believe they pulled several scams. So that is why I want to ask questions.

You are still posting on Steemit and I have never understood your motivation for doing so. The site is a joke, and it's owned by a bunch of commies. There has to be something I don't know about your motivations, but I haven't asked because I know you are under a lot of stress. (Yes, I really did go back and look at Steemit purely to see what you were posting. Are you the only person on there not posting in Korean?)

But as you have raised the point - what is it with you and Steemit?

As for your description of why you are asking I get that.

As for why I post on Steem? Why not? I took the majority of my stake out on both platforms. Left a bit in both "Just in case" Steem is popular in the Asian markets and they are likely crypto adopters they have different freedom and social expectations than we do.

I'm not actively involved with day to day politics or decisions on either.

The them or us narrative was exactly like the left vs the right. Sounds nice but no one is really that clean in the reality.

I always felt on Steemit that you might have some inside info.

What do you post for? I post for free expression, but Steemit opposes that

And I go to a site to see good content, but Steemit now has nothing but the most appalling shitposts I have ever seen anywhere on the entire internet. If there is a worse social media site I have never seen it.

In my book, anything centrally run is verboten, so Steemit is 100% no go

Ultimately I don't give a toss what is popular in the Asian market - they are my social antithesis so why would I?

I notice you haven't mentioned anything about your tendency to avoid taking sides - I would have been surprised if you had, but I'm raising it again because I'm curious and annoying like that - not artificial left vs right divisions, but essential this is better than that decision making.

I'm of the opinion that different things are better in different circumstances. Having a preference isn't the same as having to take sides.

I like that I can see both sides on most issues. I actually work on it. I make no apologies for that. Every war has 2 sides that are convinced they are 100 percent right and the other side is evil. That is almost never true if you can see the other perspective.

I could go into a bunch of details about why I was so frustrated by how the split went, but it's over and it just pisses everyone off. If you want to discuss it further it will have to be on discord.

I post on both to stay in touch with what is happening in crypto, in some cases for a safe place to post with out harassment, which I got quite a bit of after the split. Love letters from Bernie and such. Just didn't feel worth it. Mostly though it sounds like I view the platform differently. No one has squashed my ability to communicate there or express... But I was flagged for months here. Who stepped up to fix those situations? What was my crime? Disagreeing verbally? wow.

The full extent of my "inside information" was being in the secret slack for a bit and I have a discord channel we talked about Steem/Hive for hours for the first several years. I went to all the MSP shows, and basically supported anything I could that was Steem related. I never had any amazing inner connections or anything.

I briefly worked with Ned and others on the foundation, but it was a huge waste of time that I regret. There is your mystery.

There is a long held theory that social media sites were all set up by the CIA as mind control operations. I'm sure Facebook is Mossad/CIA controlled. The elephant in the room is who set up Steemit and how much of that connects to Hive.

When designing things - everything from websites to bicycles (just a couple of my old personal interests), the whole process is "is this better than that?" - every step requires a choice, a side, a decision.

When people "HODL" a crypto they are refusing to make the decision to buy or to sell, and if they always refuse to take a bet on one side or the other we end up with a totally dysfunctional system. And we are in one now.

Even doing a picture we have to decide if one colour is better than another.

image.png

dan is 100% Cybercommand qanon yes

dan larimer will come out on stage in full uniform with pompeo soon LOL

PS - You know there is chat on Hive now?

I've always thought having to switch to Discord was bogus. It's not encrypted yet but it works OK.

I didn't join the chat. I'm not interested in participating in the politics or direction. I have my own discord. However, I still have some attachment to the project and some members of the community.

I get what you are saying. I hold about 15 cryptos,make decisions about them every day. I made a decision to not be bullied off steem or hive because an angry group told me what I should do and how I should view a situation. THAT IS A DECISION. It cost me some friendships I cared about. Got me on a cute little black list and all!

When it comes to work situations I make plenty of decisions, less so now, from hiring, firing and departmental direction.. as well as explaining/justifying those decisions to people both above me and below me. I even picked my outfit today! ;) lol

I also took a lot of positions on Steem up until the EIP, the reward disagreement phase and the split all combined, it just broke my interest and faith in the project's success. Also, there is a point of which you realize you are beating a dead horse.

Not because it will not move with the market, but because if they just want it to be a blockchain project if I were to get involved again, it would be at the app level. I'm not a developer.

Ned's girlfriend was Bitcoin... Guess the master taught the pupil {LOL} 🤣🤣🤣

I mean...it is an open protocol. He could use it...or not.

As long as he's not here to be unpleasant or causing trouble, I don't think anyone would be too bothered.

He certainly can, and he is also the person who knows all the darkest secrets on Steemit, stuff that was discussed out of sight for years, and his name was always in the family!

There are some things from those discussions that also relate to Hive that I am still looking to find any clues on.

I'm dropping a hint here because I'm fishing for info...

maybe we should meet up with dan and ask some questions

but I guess he can only TALK BIG on some internet forums