You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Response to Vitalik Buterin on EOS

in #eos7 years ago

I'm impressed with the clarity and rationality you have responding to very intelligent people saying clearly ignorant (or at worse, purposefully false) statements. I hope this information spreads to get around all the FUD. Congrats on the token distribution so far. As I noted in my last EOS post, it may end up being the most widely distributed ICO ever, and you all appear to be hitting your goals nicely.

Sort:  

Thank You Dan & Luke, I trust You both & have watched most, if not all of the videos with Dan.

I'm hoping someday that Dan may meet www.EllenBrown.com , she is one of the smartest people I know regarding Banking AND actually offers SOLUTIONS for Central Banks/Fractional Reserve Banks... obviously she is not a program coder, but she could well offer some guidance regarding governance.

Her book www.WebOfDebt.com is outstanding...

She's a lawyer by training & one of the more polite people You might meet.

BIG Kudos to Both You & Dan... Cheers !!

Charles Hoskinson, of IOHK and ETC and every single blockchain conference that will allow him to speak, stepped into the fray:

Dan's been making these kinds of unqualified statements for years with little tech or reason behind them. There is no formalism to his work nor any justification to his claims.

Raw performance without explaining what TPS means (not all transactions are created equally). No mention of what these numbers would mean from a network topology and Blockchain size viewpoint. Just 200 million dollars on forked code from bitshares and steem and a lot of promises.

I'd honestly ignore it until there is something worthwhile to talk about.

Dan's been making these kinds of unqualified statements for years with little tech or reason behind them. There is no formalism to his work nor any justification to his claims.

Huh? "little tech or reason behind them"? That's... so confusing to me. How is BitShares and Steem, two of the most performant blockchains in existence today by volume "little tech"? How are these not active justifications for his claims about DPOS?

Maybe I'm just not smart enough to understand the criticisms, but on the surface they seem ridiculous to me. Please help me see what I'm missing.

I don't trust Charles Hoskinson even a little because he is a snake-oil salesman and a self-promoter and a little unstable and he mainly wants to engage to pimp his own brand.

But he did work on Bitshares in the early days, he does have connection to a POS researcher out of Edinburgh, he was briefly involved in Ethereum before the crowdsale (he got fired for being shady or unreliable ), and he does insert himself into these things, when he isn't speaking at every and any conference that will give him airtime.

He does not seem like a self promoter to me. Every time I've seen someone ask him to speculate on the price of say, Cardano he has declined giving the reason that he's no good at price predictions. He's a great advocate of decentralization and I think we should be supporting him.

This is just the typically dismissive attitude of a complacent incumbent. It's more about psychology than the actual reasoning behind it.

Maybe, and maybe I'm falling for the same trap being a fan of DPOS / Bitshares / Steemit because I'm a member here and enjoy these technologies very much. That could be it, but we're also talking about code here. Code is law. To me, this is one of the few areas where we can actually have rational discussions (math is another one). The evidence is right there for anyone to see. Maybe they just aren't aware of the number of transactions and performance of graphene/DPOS systems? I dunno. Psychological explanations are one thing, but ignoring facts about systems which exist today seems to take it to a whole different level.

To claim DPOS has centralization problems when the exact opposite is true and very real concerns exist with ETH / BTC mining farms, it just seems beyond irrational to me. Again though, maybe I'm missing something crucial and am also being influenced by my bias.

“It is impossible to get a man to understand something if his livelihood depends on him not understanding.”
― Upton Sinclair

Because you're constantly upvoting @matrixdweller, I'm going to ensure you never earn another penny on this site. Enjoy!

I'd honestly ignore it until there is something worthwhile to talk about.

Fair enough :-)

Same could be said about Charles tbh ;)