You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jeff Berwick interviews EOS Block Producer, Marshall Long of EOS.fish

in #eos6 years ago

I disagree that there is a consensus for this. At least I'm not a part of this consensus.

The consensus on Steemit is to choose the option of "Decline Payment" (instead of 'power up' or '50/50') if you are posting work that is not your own.

I think it's clear enough this post is not plagiarism. Plagiarism is claiming someone else's work as your own, or sometimes implying it. This post links to a YouTube video and makes it clear which parties are involved. In the context of the web, there is plenty of cultural precedence making this kind of linked or embedded content ok for noncommercial or commercial use. The web would be a very different, and very crappy place without it being acceptable to do so.

The problem lies in getting paid for someone else's work. It is considered plagiarism here

Sort:  

I thought that all the original people on Steemit were in agreement on this along with the developers of the site, but I just did some research and saw you making the same points 2 years ago. So indeed you are right that there is not a consensus, or that at least you have never been part of that consensus.

I joined 4 month after Steemit started and it has been the impression that I have picked up all throughout my time here. I can admit that I seem to have been wrong.

At any rate, people should understand that if they copy/paste and don't add much of their own original thoughts to a post that they are a high target for being flagged. I myself have never flagged these types of posts if they are not passing them off as their own, but I had always understood that it was a legitimate and expected use of the flag. (Thus my explanation to the author of this post.)

(p.s. I did change the wording of my comment to 'a form of' plagiarism. I do not know the right word for profiting off of someone's work but at the same time crediting them as the original creator. However I see in your old comments from 2 years ago that you consider it as profiting from finding and SHARING -- a different way to look at it that I had not considered.)

My opinions about that are still about the same. Although it seems like a longshot, I still believe Steem would find strength in offering a product similar to Reddit in addition to what it already offers.

I'd like to see what post or comment you're referring to by the way, always fun to read old stuff like that.