Oatmeal for New Years

in #esteem4 years ago (edited)

jm5lo4.jpg

I've been eating a lot of oatmeal lately. It's easy to keep on hand, inexpensive, and I like it.

I'm using instant oatmeal and just pouring boiling water over it since I am not using the kitchen here in my Kuala Lumpur condo. I have a kettle in my room to boil water, and that is good enough.

I usually doctor my oatmeal up quite a bit. Here is how I make it when I have all of these ingredients.

Chop fresh ginger root finely and cover with boiling water to soften.

qiyazw.jpg

Add a cracked raw egg to the ginger root and stir after a bit. It cooks in the water.

Add chopped seaweed, turmeric, black pepper, cinnamon, sea salt.

jmib7q.jpg

Add oatmeal in a couple of batches and stir. Add more boiling water as needed, but keep it thick.

Add Thai holy basil seeds and let bloom

Add raw honey or brown sugar.

Squeeze lime juice on top.

78b2qy.jpg

Taste test and eat!

My post today is for the Take a Pic Contest by @olivia08 for CCC. This week she wants to know what we ate for New Years, and I am pretty sure oatmeal was it for me :)

I took all the photos at random times that mostly did not have to do with oatmeal!

What I do on STEEM

@fitinfun

  • freewrite daily with @mariannewest
  • Minnow Tips
  • Photography
  • Travel

@fitinfunfood

  • Food and ccc contest posts
  • Tasteem restaurant reviews
  • @pifc contest entries

@bxlphabet

  • dApp, tokens/tribes and gaming review posts
  • dpoll- STEEM and lifestyle questions
  • BitcoinMalaysia playing card posts; coming soon!

My most recent summary of Minnow Tips is here:

You CAN Succeed on STEEM

These tips will help you if you are new and struggling on STEEM. Tag me in any comment, and I will help you if you ask me to.

Find me on Discord:

fitinfun#2249

Email me:

sjfrenchtosd at yahoo.com <<< NOT my paypal address

steemitmamas.png

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

My tweet for #posh #oc is here:

It's a good healthy diet. I will try this and save the recipe. You for sharing this and your support toy contest.
Happy new year and God bless @fitinfunfood.
Thank you for the @tipu from you.

@untersatz curate

This post has been upvoted by witness @untersatz. You've done a great job!
The @untersatz witness and manual curation is under the guidance of @contrabourdon and @organduo.
Current VP: 95.1%

I have normal oatmeal and just poor water over it and wait and that works the same. Tastes way better and is cheaper as the instant we have here. I like it too

I had oatmeal too :) But I am intrigued by your mix of savory ingredients. I should try your recipe some day. Thank you for sharing @fitinfunfood!