You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: High Water

in #esteem6 years ago

I try to, it's easier in the summertime when I get all locally raised organic produce, but it becomes a bit harder in Wisconsin in the winter when you often don't know how the produce was grown. But even our oats have roundup in them. It's hard to avoid the chemicals here, when my neighbors are spraying them on their lawns, and the farmers are using crop dusters on their fields.

Sort:  

yes it's crazy. I know that I read about a big study and the researchers were shocked to find out that almost every type of food that they tested off the shelves of grocery stores had roundup in them.

It's difficult to live in this country without being poisoned.

yes Ma'am dang near impossible! Well it seems like the push on steemit anyway is to grow your own food and everything is organic of course and I feel bad for city people in an apartment or something who have no access to organic food.
Did you guys used to garden or were you gone too much?

I always had a garden when we farmed and when my kids were growing up. I don't have enough some light down here in the woods to grow very much. I had some herbs growing in pots out on the deck and a tomato plant, which really didn't get enough sunlight and really didn't do very well. Thank goodness for my CSA farm. They do a great job!

hey Melinda you grew up on a farm, did your husband too?

Neither of us did! I was a small town girl and my kids dad was born in Chicago where his father owned a trucking company. When we got married his dad was of the opinion that land was the best investment, and he helped out with the purchase of 350 acres for us. So there we were. Farmers!

ahhahaha! oh man....instant farmers. You gotta have some good stories from those day!