Jules Verne's story

in #esteem6 years ago

#RoundTheWorldInEightyDays

Chapter - 1

  • Phileas Fogg and Passepartout

    Phileas Fogg lived at 7 Savile Row, but he spent most of his time at the Reform Club in London's Pall Mall.
    He was a silent man.Nobody knew much about him. He left his house at 11.30 every morning ro walk to the club, and
    he left the club in time to walk back to Savile Row and go to bed at midnight. He had his lunch and his dinner at the club.
    He read the papers there, and he played the card game called whist.
    Phileas Fogg was also an exact man. He expected his one manservant to be exact, too. Forster, his last manservant, had
    not been exact enough, and he had gon. Phileas Fogg was waiting at hes Savile Row house for the man who was to take
    Forster's place.
    The man who arrived was about thirty years old.
    "You ar French," said Phileas Fogg, "and your name is John?"
    "Jean, if you don't mind, sir. Jean Passepartout, they call me, because I used to be good at getting out of trouble. I am a
    good man, sit, but I have done a lot of different kinds of work. At one timeI worked in a circus, riding, jumping, walking, the
    tight rope. Then I became a teacher of gymnastics. After that, I was a fireman in Paris. But I left France five years ago, and
    I came to England to find a quiet lige as a manservant. I heard that you were the quietest man in Britian, and I would like to
    wor for you because I want to live quietly and forget the name Passepartout."
    "I'll call you Passepartout," said Phileas Fogg."What time is it?"
    Passepartout pulled a big silver watch from his pocket."It is 11.29,sir," he said.
    "All right. From now, 11.29 on 2nd October 1872, I am your employer."
    With those words, Phileas Fogg put on his hat, and went out. Passepartout was left in the house alone.
    "Well, here I am ," the Frenchman said to hime self."But what do I do?"
    He went into all the rooms in the house. One of them was clearly his own room, and in it he found a timetable of the
    things he must do. Everything was there, from 8 o'clock, when Phileas Fogg got up, to 11.30, when he left the house to go
    to the Reform Club: tea at 8.23; shaving water ( 31 ံC ) at 9.37, etc. Then from 11.30 in the morning until exactly midnight,
    when the gentleman alwaus went to bed, everything was clearly written down.
    Passepartout smiled."This is just right for me," he thought."Mr Fogg and I are going to understand each other! He likes to
    live like a clock. He is a clock."

#crd #JulesVerne