SCAM ALERT - Ether Phishing Attempts on Slack - PLEASE SHARE

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)


WARNING - Do not click links in Slack


Since the recent attempts to spoof the MyEtherWallet site I have noticed a huge number of phishing attempts on Slack pretending to be warnings and asking people to check their wallets and transfer their funds to a new wallet.

Screenshot 2017-07-08 12.12.09.png

Screenshot 2017-07-08 12.12.20.png

Rather than being some concerned citizen trying to warn others - these are actually phishing attempts with A FAKE LINK. They will take you to a fake MEW site and once you have entered your login information they will then steal all your funds.

DO NOT FALL FOR IT.

If you are ever concerned about the funds in your wallet you should visit the site yourself and make sure that the URL is correct and that it is using https.

NEVER CLICK LINKS IN WARNING MESSAGES EVER.

It doesn't matter if you get them in Slack, your email or on your phone. Always enter the URL yourself.

Please share this information to warn others.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

This is such an important post that we thought we would use ALL our Steem Power to show it the Love and Attention it deserves we have also Resteemed this post to our Followers. Great Job @thecryptofiend

I got this today disguised as Synereo.

Yes they are spreading.

483 ETH lost? Damn. And I thought I was unlucky losing .9 ETH to a forgotten password (wallet mistake). I try to never click on links.. or at least hover over the hidden ones to see the real URL. I've gotten a few phishing attempt emails unfortunately, and I don't think it'll stop now that my YouTube will continue to grow. Screw the phishers..

I think you misunderstand that message is the phishing attempt!

Thank you for sharing this. We will all be a lot safer.

Thanks a lot for the warning, good one indeed. Upvoted

Thanks!

Welcome and more success to you buddy. Happy weekend

Hey @thecryptofiend
I didn't knew all this, I will remember all these points.
Thank You for sharing such valuable information with us.
Love to you
Steem on

You're welcome.

I've seen many scams like this, heck, even my friend and I did a scam with fake sites ( but for a game) and it was like 5 years ago! How is it still a viable way to scam? Don't people like, i don't know, learn? Also I've seen programs where you just enter url and it creates a fake one!

Well the scammers keep changing it slightly. The main thing now is to make people panic that they may have been hacked at which point they are not thinking rationally.

Damn! One of my friends fell into such a scam just a couple of days ago. He lost around 1.58 ETH.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for warning.

You're welcome!

Thanks for sharing this it's dangerous I will be a lot safer

Thanks :-)

You're welcome:)

Excellent article, with me - subscription.

Noted with thanks and thanks for sharing it.

Thanks for the warning

Thanks a lot

You're welcome!

Thank you for telling about it.

Thanks, Phishing is old way but we should care it.

Yes old but it works.

Scammers LOVE crypto currency .. Since it's all untraceable.

Thanks for the warning.

You're welcome:)

Always giving out helpful tips. Thanks for the pre-notice to stay away from these scammers. I wish I could always get an update to follow and read all your posts. But my feed is always clustard from people resteeming so many posts. Even though I don't follow too many, I can't really see most of the posts from people I'm following. It's full of Resteemed posts.

Keep up the good work @thecryptofiend.

Yes it is true it is so easy to resteem and overdo it!

Alright, i'll tell all my friends. Thanks for information man!)

You're welcome.

My antivirus on the mail simply deletes messages from many emails. He says that these are viruses.

That's good but you can't just rely on that.

It sucks to here when scams like this come about and people fall victim to them.
Thank you for spreading the word.
I'll try to tell others not to click any links in Slack.

Thank for explaining that,I'm new to steemit so i really appreciate your advice. thanks for the tip about Steemithelp.net as well.
Keep up the good work.

You're welcome!

Everyday, scammers find creative ways to get people's accounts be it email, social media, etc. Sucks that they use the concerned person tactic a lot and even more sad that people fall for the concern. I agree. Type the address on your own. Safer that way. Kudos for the heads up. Now that is real concern.

Exactly. It is their job.

Exactly. It is their job.

I'm in a freelance FB group for my country and I read there once that one freelancer has this friend who works for a company that asks them to collect a quota of emails and personal information per day. I think the range was 100-500. So what those people in there do is place a fake job listing in platforms like Upwork and tell people to send their complete and modified CV. After they gather enough from the fake job listing, the job disappears suddenly :|

Thanks for the information

Thanks for sharing...

Thanks for the information, didn't got any such message but will keep an eye on it.

Thanks for information, you are doing very well @thecryptofiend
Upvoted

Thanks @thecryptofiend, too many ways to part a fool from their money!

Yes very true.

My God! Thanks for the timely warning.

I paid attention, thank you!

I will share information with friends!

This is why i deal with Dash Coin, my friend had the same thing happen to him, good thing he only had .054 ETH at the time.

Makes no difference what you deal with. If DASH has an online wallet I'm sure someone will try phishing with that too.

Nice Post :) @thecryptofiend

resteemed

thanks for the info. resteemed it, people should be aware of these kind of things :)

Thank you for the warning. I appreciate your work in the community.

good for me i never even get into slack :D

It's used a lot by some crypto projects so just be careful if you do:)

not stepping into one. useless.

It slows my computer to a crawl never understood why.

I don't use this but thank you for warning everyone :)

You're welcome:)

Damn good info brother thanks for the precaution steps

You're welcome!

Stay safe people :) Thanks for sharing about this attack.

You're welcome!

Thanks. I have received this today.

image

Looks like the same message.

Be careful where you click. That goes for everywhere on internet. Only use sites you trust or links from people you can trust. It is surprising the lack of safe browsing practices.

Yes true but people are so used to just clicking links that they don't think.

oh thanks for sharing,

All of the Slack groups I'm in are getting spammed with this. I wonder what the source is.

Thanks for the information and making us cautious about phishing

Where there is money there are sinners and also fish

Thanks for the headsup. These kind of things are awful to do. Really low to do it on slack.

Yes - I'm assuming it is easier for them to get beyond people's suspicion on slack compared to email.

Never click anything sent by people or websites you don't trust

Thanks for shairing great job!

There are 2 pages
Pages