Mining and gaming

in #ethereum3 years ago

Isn't this a bad time to game and mine?

Yeah, it is.

  • First, graphic cards prices are through the roof, due to a number of reasons such as the global chip shortage, scalpers, and the pandemic.
  • Second, and something people usually forget, is the upcoming Ethereum PoS merge, which will probably turn a bunch of GPUs into some kind of overly expensive heaters.
  • And third, because I'm European, is the energy prices hitting historical maximums.

Then... Why?

Well, I like games. And I like assembling puzzles, choosing tech stuff, learning things on the way. Building my own PC made me learn a bunch of stuff and I had a lot of fun. That's enough reason to build one!

Unfortunately, and although my relationship with mining is like "the lesser evil", that's something I have to do to cope with how much I had to spend to get a 1080 gtx GPU.

Is this future?

Probably not. As I mentioned above, I really believe the Ethereum merge will make every miner move to other chains, and only the most profitable mining rigs will survive. Unfortunately, energy price isn't going anywhere here so I guess mining in the EU is not exactly the best position to compete right now.

Anyway, I expect to have some of my investment back, and then I'll have an amazing PC to game and have fun!

Gimme specs!

So I build something like this:

  • MSI Tomahawk Max II motherboard
  • Ryzen 5 3600x + Artic Freezer 34 fan
  • MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
  • 16gb of G.Skill 3000mhz RAM
  • Some 500gb of SSD (Samsung Evo 940)

I managed to buy almost every item used on OLX (a sort of portuguese eBay, but much worse). So I don't feel bad for creating more e-garbage! I think the only "new" thing I bought was the motherboard.

Here's a picture of it:

IMG_20211012_161944.jpg

What do you think about the future of Ethereum mining? Do you think it's basically over for most miners?