Ring Fit, VR, Actifit, and the New Age of Digital Fitness

in #exercise3 years ago

Every day I workout in another world.

When I get up I put on my Oculus Quest (a VR headset) or bust out my Ring Fit and Nintendo Switch and play any of a number of games that'll leave me huffing, puffing, and breaking out in a sweat.

Beat Saber is a combination of a rhythm game (think Dance Dance Revolution [if you remember that game]) and whack-a-mole. Usually I queue up for an online round, where after using the Oculus controllers to awkwardly wave hello to the other people in the lobby we are transported to a series of platforms floating in empty space, colored blocks with arrows hurling themselves at us and demanding to be smashed in the appropriate way as we actively dodge obstacles.

If I haven't quite gotten my movement fix, I might decide to go for a round of Space Pirate Simulator, where I'm forced to dodge shots from incoming drones as I send them falling from the sky in a hail of fire.

Some days, if I'm feeling particularly up for a challenge, I'll bust out the Ring Fit. As humble as it looks (or even silly), I can guarantee you of one thing: if you get a Ring Fit and actually use it you will get one of the best honest-to-goodness workouts you can possible receive outside of a gym. There are already many stories of people using it to lose weight and get into shape. Google it, it's pretty crazy and amazing stuff.

Admittedly the thing in the title that I've used the least is Actifit. However I've been aware of it for some time now, and I'm perpetually on the verge of following through. I've seen other people's stories, and it's pretty amazing to connect working out to getting a token. If you think about it it makes sense: by staying in shape you are creating all sorts of indirect value for society (not to mention yourself!).

But that connects to my main point: this is the future of fitness. In the future, working out will have so many options and configurations, be so addictive, that people will work out naturally. Gone are the days of the treadmill (originally designed as a punishment) and the jumping jack, here are the days of adventuring in new worlds and getting into shape along the way.

And this is only the beginning.


ringfit.jpg