You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be Wary of "Experts"

in #expertise7 years ago

You just don't see enough Bertrand Russell quotes these days.

It's true that the confirmation bias produced by an overzealous horde of lemmings is a reliable indicator of the path of least preference. At least, it's worked for me for a long time.

Sort:  

much of science has ended up being like Russel's teapot. Religion as well.

Is it any wonder? Proof denies faith, but costs more effort and often incurs ridicule or alienation, or both. Such is the burden of proof. Ever began a reply to a simplistic postulation or moronic deduction with "It's not quite that simple..." only to be cut short by denigration intended to marginalise?

How many straw men have you fought. A lot, I wager.

Text book, bible, both have totemic power to dismiss & defeat with a mere mention; It is written. I still prefer the endeavor, the argument, the explanation & the journey, it gives me a richer inner world & a more insightful, meaningful dialogue with reality, however limited it may ultimately be, whatever that costs me. I just wish that contest wasn't favoured over collaboration so frequently.