You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Covid-19 is Changing my Life

in #exteem • 4 years ago

If you don't know what a furlough is let me give a quick recap. It means that I don't get to work but I am not fired. So in theory at some time I get my old job back.

I am in the same situation... I wonder how the states will support all of these bills. 🤔

It's very strange to see multinational corporations that made Billions of Dollars in profits per year claiming they have no money to sustain this crisis... at the same time the already bankrupt governments are forced to step in and pay the bills, as if we'd lived in Communist Regimes or something like it.

When big companies which spent 11 years collecting profits cannot stand being on pause for a single month... then I guess this economic model is a sham.

If this is Capitalism... then I don't see how is it that much better than the old Soviet Communist Regime. Maybe we need a new economic system altogether.

Do we collect the money from the government and hope it lasts longer than they keep us shutdown? I am not really sure what will happen.

Maybe the best is to go find a piece of land to plant some crops... and forget about this office style living? 🙄

Sort:  

Trying to make that big of change would be hard. I wasn’t raised to work on a farm. I have no idea what to do. Sometimes I do want to leave California. But not sure I am ready to leave the office work.

Ya it seems odd to think that companies can find a way to support us better. It bugs me that my work gave us nothing. At this point they are doing everything they can to save money. Only advantage is we still get our benefits. But time will tell if that gets better or worse.