How Covid-19 is Changing my Life

in #exteem4 years ago

image.png

Image Source

I know a lot of people are facing more issues than me on this Virus that is around the world. Yet I wanted to talk to you guys a bit about me and how this might hurt me. Then I would like to hear something from you about all this. I will help one of you with some shares of SBI on Steem or on Hive as I will be posting this on both. I hope that people are okay with that for a while as we are learning about the path for both.

I am on my second week of a four-week furlough from work. They started us off with a 2-week one then upped it to 4 weeks. I live in the USA so I am a little lucky in that the government is going to send my family a check. Also, I will be going on unemployment next week and they added more money for us during this. If you don't know what a furlough is let me give a quick recap. It means that I don't get to work but I am not fired. So in theory at some time I get my old job back. The thing is a furlough can last as long as the company wants. I don't worry too much as my company tired to stay open. It took our local government in California shutting us down to make them close.

image.png

Image Source

I am not sure if it was the right move or not. I work in the tech department for a Dentist company. One of the bigger ones in the state. I am trying to figure out in my mind if the Dentist should have been allowed to stay open. We had done a lot at the offices to make sure that everything was clean and sick people could not come in. Including screening them outside the offices. That was one of the reasons I was wondering why hospitals, chiropractors, doctors, and stores are all still open around us but the dentist got shutdown. The worry about this with me is that they are shutting down the schools for the next 5 months. They have not given us a timeline for the dentist to reopen. So now a lot of us are just waiting and wondering do we look for other work? Do we collect the money from the government and hope it lasts longer than they keep us shutdown? I am not really sure what will happen.

I know that for sure this stuff might not seem like a big deal. To anyone that has lost someone, I know my issues seem small. I have buried my parents so I know that pain and know this doesn't compare. But just sharing a bit with anyone that wants to read this. Now I will get to some of the good.

With my kids at home with me and me no work to do, I have become the daytime caregiver. This is very new to me. I have always worked and they have always been in daycare. We had weekends together but now it is all day every day. It has taken some getting used to but I am starting to enjoy it. I am getting my daughters to listen to me a bit better. I am getting to see how smart they are every day. I am getting to spend a lot more time outside in the backyard just playing like I was a kid again. I have to get in the right mindset to not get bored. It can be hard I am use to much more grownup stuff. But hey if I have to pretend to be a dwarf to play snow white then that is what I have to do. I can see a good thing for me if this all ends by May. I have enough saved up to live through that with no issues at all. The worries become if it pushes into August. I will just have to wait and see. I know that I should count myself lucky to have lost anyone yet to this. Yet still, I can see the house I worked so hard to buy, the job I worked so hard to get all slip away. To a virus, I never saw that coming for sure. I am not sure if many will read this. Not my normal stuff but take care.

Sort:  

Sounds like a difficult and uncertain time. I think shutting as much down as possible is the best way to fight the virus. There should however be an exit strategy of how to restart the economy afterwards.
Sorry to hear you're on a furlough right now. But at least you get (some) pay by the government and you keep your job for now. Hope you can try to enjoy the house and family life the coming weeks and this whole situation goes over sooner rather than later.
Stay strong and healthy!

Ya it wouldn’t seem as odd if a bit more was shutdown. I just hope this all works out soon so we can get back to normal work. Also hope you stay healthy and happy. Thanks for reading my post.

Thanks!
Fortunately I can work from home and I still have enough to do. But looking forward to the day the measures are tapered off.

Hi @stever82, i hear you, we have the same situation, but we have eachother beside the kids are you alone? , thank god that you made enough in savings to have less worrries stay safe

Well my wife is here but her job is letting her work from home. So she helps for sure but also we worry her company will have issues.

Good luck man. Sorry to hear about your job. I hope this passes in the near future or at least enough to open some business back up. Keep us posted.

In the meantime enjoy those kids. They sure are special.

Yup that is what I am trying to do.

We just need hive to be worth $10. Then we can help out this whole community.

If you don't know what a furlough is let me give a quick recap. It means that I don't get to work but I am not fired. So in theory at some time I get my old job back.

I am in the same situation... I wonder how the states will support all of these bills. 🤔

It's very strange to see multinational corporations that made Billions of Dollars in profits per year claiming they have no money to sustain this crisis... at the same time the already bankrupt governments are forced to step in and pay the bills, as if we'd lived in Communist Regimes or something like it.

When big companies which spent 11 years collecting profits cannot stand being on pause for a single month... then I guess this economic model is a sham.

If this is Capitalism... then I don't see how is it that much better than the old Soviet Communist Regime. Maybe we need a new economic system altogether.

Do we collect the money from the government and hope it lasts longer than they keep us shutdown? I am not really sure what will happen.

Maybe the best is to go find a piece of land to plant some crops... and forget about this office style living? 🙄

Trying to make that big of change would be hard. I wasn’t raised to work on a farm. I have no idea what to do. Sometimes I do want to leave California. But not sure I am ready to leave the office work.

Ya it seems odd to think that companies can find a way to support us better. It bugs me that my work gave us nothing. At this point they are doing everything they can to save money. Only advantage is we still get our benefits. But time will tell if that gets better or worse.

I am glad that you manage to see the positive in this whole situation. Later on when you will look back you will be happy that you got to spend more time with your children and see their real potential. I am not saying it is easy, but it can also be fun if we are aware of the blessings we have. Stay safe!

Being self employed I can relate. The bills are piling up and the money is not coming in. I still go to the office just for a sense of normalcy but the truth is I don't know what a hit like this will do. My budget is month to month, if I do not earn money I don't get paid.

My wife is worried sick over it, but I just carry on. The nice thing about being self employed is that in the past 20 years, I have seen good times and I have seen hard times yet through it all I am still standing. The hard times always seem to end just at the right time.

Take a deep breath and enjoy the day with your children!

Happiness is a choice regardless of the circumstances.