Steemfat: Discovered Watermelon

in #exyle6 years ago

b1aad257-7a25-4d91-9219-43e86f68d460.jpeg


When I went to Mallorca with Bianca I rediscovered watermelon at breakfast.

It's not that common to eat it in the Netherlands I guess.

So when I went looking for it I did find it in the supermarket but a steep price.

You can buy it pre-cut (about 200g) in a plastic container for about $2.

But last week I found myself in a supermarket called Lidl.

And low and behold they had a whole box full of whole water melons for only $7 each.

I bought one and been amazed how much watermelon is in a watermelon :)

I've been stuffing my face (moderately) with it almost daily and still have half left.

It's fantastic eating it very cold in the current heatwave.

After doing some research I also found it's pretty healthy for you here.

Steemfat is going well.

I heard more than one person say my face looks a little thinner which I guess is a good sign.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Excellent purchase, my friend and you are absolutely right, you can eat a lot of watermelon in a strong heat, for example, with my family I will eat a whole watermelon of decent size in the heat and do not even notice, haha. In addition, you have found an excellent source of carbohydrates for training and as a source of moisture, it also fits perfectly. Well done! Thanks Mark

That's great! I adore watermelon and i didn't know it has all these benefits with" each juicy bite has significant levels of vitamins A, B6 and C, lots of lycopene, antioxidants and amino acids." Also, Lidl is very good supermarket i love to shopping from, it has a great deals for every day i bought yesterday 2 boxes 500g each of Grapes for only 3 euro. Thanks for sharing and have a nice day

Yummy, water melon is very good for the body and contains about 90% water and also it works improving the cells and organs in the body and also it's good taken cold because of the heatwave Currently occurring in your country, I really hope it stops soon.

Thanks!

Watermelon is delicious and healthy and you can always use the seeds as bullets for a mouth gun pew pew pew!

I eat the seeds :) I read they are healthy.

I eat the seeds too, but because I am lazy hhhh

Another reason I eat them :)

You could dry the seeds and fry them on a pan
Delicious

Wow watermelon! My favourite fruit ,really it's very delicious, healthy and very helpful in this hot weather but i had no idea it's seed that healthy , never eaten before . You know my husband bought a watermelon yesterday from Lidl (England) and its price is £3.50 that is so testy ,so Lidl is everywhere that's great . Here is a photography of my watermelon

20180725_112338.jpg

Did you remove the seeds? Looks beautiful.

No i didn't, it has little bit seeds and there colour are white.

I love water melon too..so delicious and really good

Hi Exyle. We have giant watermelons here and they are really cheap. The ones that are too big to export. Very healthy for you at the same time.

Great to hear Steemfat 3 is going well @exyle

I love water melon in summer. We normally have some cubed up in the fridge so we can graze on it when ever we feel like it.

We tend to buy a whole melon and that works out pretty cheap. 😊

Noms! Watermelon is such a regular enjoyment around these parts! It's so good! What is Steemfat 3 thouhgh? I've not heard of that before!

Steemfat is my journey to get in shape for Steemfest 3.

Oh haha! When is it? Good for you!! I wish you great success!! And, could really use the incentive to join you on your endeavour!! Obviously, i have missed your recent blogs! Thanks for letting me know.

Watermelon contains 90% of water, it is a great source of antioxidants (vitamin c and lycopene). Not only that it aids foods digestion but also helps in regulating the body ph (being alkaline) because our average diets contains a lot of saturated fats and sugars, and even processed foods tends to be more acidic.
It can also help in weight loss.

Good one @exyle...
Watermelon is one of my best fruits... But if I'm not thirsty, it's not always an easy choice to go for.

Watermelon is a great addition to your steemfat program. I just read the article you linked and I agree that this fruit is really fantastic. Like most people,I always make the mistake of throwing away the white part and the seeds. Now I will eat everything and just throw away the rind :)

Watermelon is big in Florida because of the heat. It really is a cooling fruit. And there is nothing to it since it is so light.

Be sure to eat the pits. I only recently found out they are packed with all kinds of good stuff that we need.

Thanks! I always eat the pits, to lazy to get them out.

My wife loves watermelon! I enjoy it, but don't really ever find myself craving it. I am guessing it is quite a bit more common over here. We also have different varieties of melon, but I don't really care for the other ones. Do they also have honeydew and cantaloupe over there?

"I heard more than one person say my face looks a little thinner which I guess is a good sign."

There is another trick: shave your beard.
😉

Sacrilege!

Watermelon is good for you! And the diet. We used to grow it in Canada and we grow it here too, about 6 different kinds. They are great for parties too. When you have your next BBQ, take a watermelon and cut a small hole in the side. Pour in a bottle of vodka, replace the top and put in the fridge. Overnight is best, turning it once in a while to mix the vodka in the watermelon!

Damn sweet recipe, going to have to try this out, thanks for sharing that!

Vodka with watermelon now that sounds great!

Probably not great for Steemfat, but on your weekend splurge, having a BBQ and friends over...perhaps you'll need two depending on sie. LOL

I love watermelon too, from luxembourg currently suffering the heat and I almost daily throw about half a small seedless watermelon with a glass of water and ice into the mixer, it is the most refreshing and tasty drink on earth. You can also add some mint leaves to it in the mixer if you like mint.

Definitely try that out you will be in paradise;)

Mint! what a great idea!

I love Watermelon but not for the breakfast. Can eat it at the hot afternoon hours :D

it's really a big watermelon...it's also very healthy and useful..

in general, watermelons taste me, but I do not like these seeds :), greetings!

Watermelon sounds so good right now. Good that you found some where you went. I wonder, did it taste sweeter than usual to you?

If you go to Mercat del Olivar or Mercat de Santa Catalina you can buy directly from farmers ;)

Dear friend, I love watermelon, I could eat it at all times, and throughout my life, you have made a good choice to look for it and consume everything you want.

What about cube watermelons? Would you pay $200 for one? https://bc.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=399831

Watermelooooonn so cool and amazing it looks the perfect way to enjoy the day