Sharing Steemit Posts on Facebook? Use the Lint Tool!

in #facebook7 years ago

Have you ever tried sharing a brand new Steemit post on Facebook only to see this result?

What a let down. Your image, your text... Nothing came through correctly.

This happens because Facebook needs time to crawl your page and update the meta data about it. There's a simple tool they provide which you can use to nudge this process along and ensure your meta data is ready to go before you share your post on Facebook:

https://developers.facebook.com/tools/lint/

Just put your new Steemit post URL here and hit Debug:

If you don't see things as they should be, just click the Scrape Again button:

Once everything shows up like you want it, you're good to share your post on Facebook without any problems.

If you're using Twitter, they have a similar tool here:

https://cards-dev.twitter.com/validator

I've only ever had to use that when changing the main image of a Steemit post.

Many see Facebook as a dying model, the next Myspace or Blockbuster. That may be true, but there's still a billion accounts there and Steemit will have to take some of that market to truly thrive. Posting about Steemit there (and elsewhere) will help people through repetition eventually try this place out. I've been at it for almost a year now, and people are finally starting to create accounts here. It takes time. Let's put our best foot forward with quality shares.

Related Posts:


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Thanks for this @lukestokes buddy. I'll be keeping a regular eye on your articles now, you're quite the man. Thanks and great to have you in our Crypto group!

Thanks Jan. Holy moly, my vote of your comment just blasted it to $39! Geez. I feel like a whale now. :)

That's nuts @lukestokes . I don't even understand the comment policy, but that's huge. When you have time check my art, some of it might be up your alley :) Many thanks!

Oh hell, FINALLY. This has been plaguing me for a bit.
I figured out why Discord wasn't showing images, but FB has been a thorn in my side. I had no idea the lint tool even existed. [Bookmarked]

Glad to be helpful! :)

upvoted you and its great to read all your posts because it adds a great skills and knowledge in myself, already followed you and inspired from your posts, hope that you also follow me back so that it will be a great pleasure for me and a big contribution from ur side for me , thanks kindly follow me aswell @shanzaylizay

I have wondered why Discord doesn't show images sometimes. What did you find out? Thanks.

That was really helpful -- for understanding the problem, although not for fixing it, lol. At least I won't wonder about it anymore. Thanks!

As I understand it, there have been several attempts at contacting Discord to resolve this, but it has something to do with where Discord accepts images from to give previews, and I guess for one reason or another steemimages isn't on that list.

I've already been able to help someone else having this same problem. So thanks again for figuring it out and letting us know!

upvoted you and its great to read all your posts because it adds a great skills and knowledge in myself, already followed you and inspired from your posts, hope that you also follow me back so that it will be a great pleasure for me and a big contribution from ur side for me , thanks kindly follow me aswell @shanzaylizay

I didn't get good response sharing steemit on facebook. The people there have different mindset

Frankly I hate FB, but you are right if we are gong to get more people to leave FB and come over to Steemit, we are all going to have to post and tell the world how much they are getting ripped of on FB, Twiitter, and YT.
Great post, Like those work arounds! Thanks, I am following you now. (I'm new here)

Here is a great way to automatically share your Steemit Posts on Facebook.

Thank you,
Spencer Coffman
SpencerCoffman.com

i posted for the 1st time about steemit to fb a couple of days ago and the post was blocked by facebook within 1 minute! it was getting a lot of attention with people learning that they could get paid.. i honestly think facebook is moving to block some posts as they did with the other social network that paid to post called TSU. I wrote about it and included sources and screenshots here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@ura-soul/did-facebook-just-censor-me-for-linking-to-steemit-anyone-seen-that

I'm wondering about this one myself. It just seems like something FB would do.

definitely - fb is like the deranged member of the family that people don't like to mention.. who would lock you out of your own house for not polishing your shoes every day! lol

I've been sharing steemit posts for almost a year now and have never been censored or blocked. Might just be a random censor who thought it was spam.

maybe - however, i have been posting in exactly the same way to the same groups for a long time - including advertising the social network that i run and never had this occur. facebook blocked the entire post across the entire network of facebook - not just one posting of it to one group.

Being posted in multiple groups over and over again may have eventually triggered a threshold. Spam would have a similar data pattern.

i appreciate that, but what i am saying is that i have used almost exactly the same posting pattern for probably close to 100 other posts in the last few months and never had a problem until mentioning steemit.

I wonder if they have a complaints department you could ask. Might be interesting.

they just let me state that it isn't spam - i don't recall ever seeing a complaints page, but maybe.

@lukestokes good post look fw to seeing more

Excellent advice! Thank you so much! Followed!

Exactly what happened to me a few times. Now everything is under control tho. Thanks for your post

I didn't get that problem yet. Thanks for this information.

Great idea. This could come in handy for other things as well.

I have noticed this a few times happening on Facebook and wondered why. This is a great post for a solution and I really appreciate it! Resteemed!

I do share my Steemit posts on fb if they are relevant to that audience. They have gone through straight away with no problem. Thanks for the alert. upvoted :)

love the meme lol

wlcm bro...

How does this have anything to do with my post? Looks like a spam comment to me. If so, I feel compelled to flag it. Maybe that's why you have a 9 reputation? Stop spamming. It will not work for you here.

he started to flag me.........then i did the same .......i'm not a spamer it's ego from both side

You seem to have spammed my post with your comment. Do you know what spam is?

This is a great tip, thanks for sharing!

Thank you Luke

Question: should I check every post before subitting or once if it starts to work right, then all future shared posts would look fine?

I check most posts if I just created them. Each post that is new needs to be crawled by Facebook so it doesn't matter if other posts work.

thank you. it's nice to know

Wow thanks!, this was needed, FB is really crappy lately...

Super damn useful post. Not that I even go to facebook much any more now that steemit exists, but I am trying to get my people over there, to come over here and this will help a lot with that! Thanks! Resteemed!

VERY COOL! I had no idea about this tool. I've been lucky so far that my images have been showing up but this is going into my knowledge bank for future reference. :) Thank you.

Never on Earth will I share my steemit post on Facebook, who has Facebook helped ? I can only share my Facebook posts on steemit.

Okay now and I'm glad I found you Lint. As I really need such kind of tool in my FB. Thanks for sharing.

Better said, sharing posts from facebook on steemit :D

useful i have just been uploading my feature image to get round this, making it a more manual process

This is very helpful!

That's a lot of help! You may be on Steemit, but that seems like SuperUser Facebook knowledge. Thanks!

Good Info. thanks for posting - Upvoted & Following!

I've only had that happen a couple times out of 40 or so. I thought it had something to do with my internet connection being weak....I am editing because this is different & I now understand the issue. My apology

Trip to Facebook when steemit was introduced.
Facebook bus.png
Abandoned trip.
Facebook may need to decentralize their system to favor a common man who is somewhere contributing to their growth.

Cool Thank you I will check it out!

I don't think Steemit is a direct competitor to Facebook. Is there any blockchain network to connect with friends?

Thanks for putting this together. The Facebook debugging tool you wrote about - is really going to get me up and running quickly.

Glad it's helpful for you!

upvoted you and its great to read all your posts because it adds a great skills and knowledge in myself, already followed you and inspired from your posts, hope that you also follow me back so that it will be a great pleasure for me and a big contribution from ur side for me , thanks kindly follow me aswell @shanzaylizay

WOW

Definitely gonna use this! I made the Steemit Official Facebook page, this is gonna help me so much!

Check out the results I already made until now in 11 days: https://steemit.com/facebook/@steve-speaks/11-days-on-facebook-results-on-steemit-official-page

Thank you!
@steve-speaks

You've linked to your "official" (how is it official?) post in comments on two different posts of mine. This is starting to look like spam. DO NOT spam or you will be flagged.

Congratulations @lukestokes
You took 69 place in my Top 100 of posts