34°C

in #family4 years ago

sunshine.JPG

On the way to seeing my sister I had to get off the M1 unto a narrow, winding countryside road with a speed limit of 40 mph. I was doing 40, maybe 39, when a couple of luxury cars sped up and caught up with me. One was a Bentley and the other was something really exotic, but I couldn't make out what it was.

Then the started tailgating me, I guess to put pressure on me to speed up, but I'm a seasoned driver and I'm never perturbed by this soft of stuff. They eventually got fed up with my adherence to the law, and decided to overtake me on a particularly blind part of the road. The road curved to the right, and up a hill - so it was double blind actually. They seemed to be using the small and dangerous countryside road as a race track.

I'd never seen a Bentley driven that recklessly before. I caught a glimpse of the driver, and it was exactly what I expected - 20's - early 30's men, probably daddy's or mummy's cars. I wonder if their parents know what they do with their car when these overgrown babies "borrow" them. I guess if you can let your kid borrow a Bentley, and (I think it was a Maserati, the other one), then you don't really care anyway.

Aaaanyway, It was amazing to see my sister, brother in-law, nephew and niece after such a long time. My nephew has changed the most, having grown nearly an entire head length since the last time he gave me a jumping hug. It's amazing.

He seems to have had a haircut, but I am still rocking my COVID Afro. They laughed at my hair, and my bulgier than normal belly, and then went ahead and offered me some sugary snacks and drinks.

It was blazing hot, for UK standards, but they were loving it. They don't actually live here in the UK. My sister was over here doing her Ph.D, so they all came with her. She was supposed to have left after successfully defending her thesis in April, alas! Corona.

They live in the tropics, so even though they'd started acclimatising to this place after 3 years, they still welcomed the heat with open arms. Apparently they still have their duvets out, even though temperatures soured to a whopping 34°C!

[I'm still there/here by the way]. We have been spending most of the time out in the garden. They have a good sized one, but the neighbours can look directly into it, which isn't as private as I like. The temperature has dropped a bit now, especially in the evenings so all we do is sit out side and talk about funny things that happen when we were children.

I also, inevitably, talked about cryptocurrency and the fact that there are two men currently sat in a metal pod dropping into our atmosphere as we spoke. Out of this world stuff, quite literally.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

drivers are crazy in the uk, i like to drive only in secure areas like ruislip

Hahahaha. Yes they are. East London is probably the worst.
Ruislip is secure? It's been a long time since I've been around there 😅

eastcote, ruislip, pinner try it , quit and safe )