Dinner is Served! Lamb Shank and Mash... and Red Wine

in #family4 years ago

IMG20200606WA0009.jpg
Tonight we had a delicious sit down family meal. We really should dobthis more often.

Mrs MJ got a recipe for lamb shanks from her Mum to try. She started cooking it yesterday afternoon, and then left it overnight in the fridge to marinade. This evening we took it out and slowly warmed it up to a simmer for another few hours. We bought some good mashing patatoes (yes, there are good ones and not so good ones for mashing, apparently) as well, and boiled them up and mashed them into a smooth and fluffy texture.
IMG20200606WA0011.jpg

The final product was a mouthwatering, fall off the bone shank with peas and carrots in a red wine gravy, over the mashed patato.

20200606_214112.jpg

It was perfect, and was well complimented by an aptly-named "The Fat Man" Pinotage, whuch I still need to write up a review of. Watch this space....

Eat well, drink well, love you family well, and have great weekend!!

@bmj

Sort:  

Wow... This looks really delicious my friend 😍😋 you got me hungry.
I never had this kind of meal and I don't think I ever eaten lamb.. But omg that plate... Im drooling!

I hope you are doing well and having a wonderful weekend my friend and I wish you and your family the very best. Much love 🤗❤️🌹

Hey thanks for stopping by to say hello! It was a delicious meal, we were all soooo full afterwards!
All is well here, just focusing on family time and work life at the moment, so not very active on the blockchain these days. Still lurking in the background though.

One fine winter meal served up, love lamb shanks just sooo expensive over here right now, perhaps try the slower cook method using mutton.