My Remedy Against Postnatal Depression

in #family7 years ago (edited)

Shortly after I gave birth to Briana, I fell into a depression, one that I had no idea I was, so I was not looking for treatment.

The dad was the one who pulled the alarm signal and together we started to talk and shake it. That's how I discovered that I felt reduced only to Briana's mother's status and just that. I went out and people asked me what the baby is doing, how it sleeps, how it eats, what it eats, how much it eats, how many times I changes its pampers, but not even one asked me how I feel, how I adapt to new life, what do I want to do it when she grows a little it was completely out of the question.

Before giving bith on her, I had an active life, read books, write articles, teaching chess, but after 9 months of pregnancy, everything was reduced to zero, so this lack has caused me a great depression.

So I started slowly to go to the library and borrow books, I started to laugh again, read funny articles, I started writing on the steemit (thanks @alin).

It is a beautiful time but at the same time it is full of the unknown, as I said a previous post, I read a lot about that period and what it was supposed to follow. I expect my hormonal level to decrease, it's normal, but for me it was something else, I felt I had disappeared altogether, I had become invisible.

I'm not the only one with this problem, many mothers I know or see on the street, most have this problem, whether they admit it or not, all pushing the carriage, listening to the music or not, all look sad, with the thoughts in the other side, and if you talk to them you will notice a tendency to get out of the baby talk.

Some mothers expect to get out of this depression by themselves, others will not recognize because they do not want the world around to believe they do not love their babies.

This is not about how much you love your child / children, here we talk about how much you love yourself. Ultimately, if we as mothers are not healthy and children will find it difficult.

Society expects so many things from you, that your mother always has to do the perfect thing, you can not be wrong, or you will be judged, condemned and executed on the spot, more like a dictator.

You know how many mothers are fighting postnatal depression, most do not accept that they have it just because they do not want people to understand that they are unhappy, but it is perfectly normal, I found out that you can want a great deal, love with all that soul, but to a small extent to miss the life you had.

If I got out of depression? Not yet, it's a long way, but it's getting easier. My Remedy Against Depression? Discussions with Dad about everything else besides the baby (we adore it, but our time is our time, more about it in another post), action books, science fiction, anything that has nothing to do with babies when I see with someone in the city, I try to push the conversation and what I've done (it's not like talking about the consistency of her pampers with each other, though I have received many questions), joyful music, plenty of sunshine and laughter.

What is your remedy against depression? 

Sort:  

Thank you @ainal , i do love famous quotes