Tribute to Mama

in #family6 years ago (edited)

'A picture paints a thousand words.'

Today, as I was scrolling through pictures in my laptop, I came across a few pictures of my grandmother. We called her Mama. Looking at these pictures, I felt really nostalgic as I was reminded by all the good times from before. Mama has gone to be with the Lord a couple years ago, but her legacy still lives on. She was one of the most strongest woman I've ever known. Let me tell you briefly about this inspiring woman! :)

IMG-20161219-WA0012.jpg

I got my Kadazan blood from my grandparents of my mother's side. If you don't know, 'Kadazan' is a native tribe from Sabah. Mama married my grandfather at a very young age ( I forgot was it 16 or 18 years old ). Back then, it was okay for people in the kampung(village) to marry at a young age. What's beautiful is that they were faithful to each other until they've gone up to heaven. Oh and just so you know, back then, 7 people wanted to propose to Mama! Like wowwww hahaha and even one of them is a foreigner (orang putih)! Our aunties asked Mama why did she picked our grandfather from among them. It turns out she picked him because of what he said.

Curious what did my grandfather say? I'll tell ya'll later hahahahah xD

Mama raised 7 children in total. Though back then, they didn't have a lot of money, but Mama and grandpa never failed to provide for the family. And now, her children are all grown up, doing so good and successful in life with their own families. Though her children have their own families already, they will always come back and visit Mama in kampung every week or once in two weeks.

Mama loved animals! I'm guessing that's where I have my love for animals! It's like Mama has a special connection with them especially the dogs and cats! Over the years, Mama has tons of pets, from dogs, to cats, chickens, turtles; once when my mother was younger, they even kept a monkey as their pet! But it had to be sent to the zoo after that. (sad:( ) Here's a picture of my Mama and my cousin on a tame buffalo xD

IMG-20161218-WA0017.jpg

Pretty cool huh?

I have to say, even though she is quiet and we speak very little to each other, her life speaks volumes to me and I am very inspired by her in so many ways. The legacy she left behind is something I want to leave behind in my own family next time. Yes, this is JUST a brief intro about Mama. If I were to write more, you'd be scrolling this page down for days xD

In a nutshell, Mama may be of little words, but her life speaks huge volumes, that impacted the lives of all of us. Never underestimate the little things and the love you pour out for your family.

' You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up to more than I can be. '

-Josh Groban, You raise me up

Thank you, Mama, for your life.

Oh yeah, you wanted to know what my grandpa said that made Mama wanted to spend her life with him?xD

He said: 'I don't have a lot of things. All I have is a mother to take care of, and siblings to care for. If you choose to spend your life with me, I can guarantee you it won't be as easy and smooth-going.'

What can I say? I guess honesty is pretty attractive ;) Hehe!

Banner Steem-Music (1000x400).jpg

Sort:  

That picture does look pretty cool! Must've been quite an experience sitting on a buffalo :)

Wow that love story and how awesome your grandma gave me some moral values in life!! Niceeee :)

MAMA raised you right! :) Keeping writing, Chelsea! your mom looks your MAMA in the pic with the buffalo

Congratulations @chelsealees! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ngaww.. I enjoyed this post very muchhh hehe

wooohooo your grandpa rocks! haha
and your mama too :)
i guess her courage and her boldness and her faith pass on to you :)