'The Good Old Days'

in #family6 years ago (edited)

Anybody fed up with todays pace of life?
Why not take a trip down memory lane when life was much slower and almost sloth like when the majority of people had good manners and treated others with respect. Instead of relying on computers and calculator’s people had to depend on using their brains or encyclopaedias.

My dad used to be a Unigate milkman from 1974-1990 and the changes from when he was a young boy growing up in the 1950’s until the present day are significant in the dairy industry. He remembers when growing up in the 1950’s that the milk float who delivered his milk was horse drawn and now they are mostly battery, electric or motorised vehicles and they are almost non-existence as a door step delivery service.

Back then you could walk down the street with a lot less fear of being robbed or attacked etc. children could play outside with no worries of traffic or parked cars as buses and bicycles were the popular modes of transport with not too many people owning a vehicle. When the majority of people couldn’t afford to go abroad for their holidays, caravan holidays became popular especially in the United Kingdom.

)

There was a lot more discipline at school and a greater respect for both teachers and parents and fear for people in authority such as policemen. Children would leave school a lot earlier and start work as there were less opportunities for higher education.

Children of that era would make things out of wood like go carts, pull along trollies and amuse themselves more playing such games like hop scotch and marbles, unlike today where children are getting addicted to computer games consoles, phones and social media which is also influencing the way they view themselves as individuals. A totally different era with technology improving at a very fast rate.

Husbands used to go to work and the wife’s stayed at home to cook, clean and raise the children. People used to get married a lot younger and pregnancy was more shameful outside of marriage. Alot has changed especially for women who have more independence and power over their bodies although there is still a lot of improvement for gender equality with pay, jobs etc..

Back then families used to stay together through the hard times and people in the local community had a sense of belonging. The front doors would be on the latch and children could come and go as they please. In the early 1950’s children had experienced a rationing of food so things like sweets, crisps and fizzy drinks weren’t taken for granted unlike the children of today and Sunday roast dinners were a family event.

It would be nice to go back to a calmer and more gentle way of life but unfortunately I do not own a time machine.

Sort:  

Yea, the "good old days" but we have to look forward

yes , the pace of life isn't slowing down anytime soon.

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 3200+ Followers — just send 0.05 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day + the chance of daily upvotes!

For more infos read our Vision & Rules and also get you your free Resteem!

Congratulation you also got a random upvote by @yougotresteemed!

Cool Picture! I love everything old timey and vintage.

thanks for checking out my post

Congratulations! This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted as part of #newbieresteemday. The resteem initiative was started to spread encouragement, motivation and helpful tips to newbies that create quality content. To learn more about the initiative please click here. To learn more about Magical Monday please click here.

Magical Monday.jpg

Thanks, I used all my Steem dollars up so that helps a lot.

You're welcome! This is an amazing post. I wish everyday that this world was not as bad as it is now. Even when I was a child in the 90's it wasn't this bad. I can't imagine the disappointed that it has to be for people from those days to see how children act these days and how much the world has turned upside down. Thank you so much for sharing.

As a Greeter Volunteer for @greetersguild, I write post on Up and Coming Steemians. If you don't mind, I would like to feature you in a post which will then be shown to all of the Greeters and obviously Steemit, lol.

yes that would be nice, thank you , let me know once you have posted so I can read if that's ok. And yes I feel sorry for the kids growing up these days because I believe although technology etc. will improve , the way we treat each other is going In the opposite direction.

Great story and pictures..Life bears no ressemblence to that anymore..
Life is going to get even faster..

Thanks for reading, as a bus driver in London, England I see everyday people rushing around and for sure doesn't show any signs of slowing down.

I was thinking about those past generations and how they lived and came to the inevitable conclusion that their way of living was muuuch better than ours. BUT. What if they thought the same when it comes to the generations who lived before them? :D ...and I agree with everything you said, btw. :)

Thanks for reading, yes I'm not sure exactly how far back you would have to go before the generations of people actually thought the behaviour of society was improving.
Glad you enjoyed another of my posts lol

Maybe after the Inquisition :D Kidding. I enjoyed your post very much :)

yes, lol Thanks again

"Good past", a good future!

I hope so, thanks for sharing your comments

wow..... comments din pls

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5220 followers.
  • To use my resteem service send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Upvote this comment if you like this service.

It's odd... but I always say I was born too late. I am a stay at home wife, husband works, we are trying to homestead, I grow our food, I re-use, learn new skills, etc, etc.

Thanks for this post. It has given me some ideas for my own.

No problem, thanks for reading and glad that its given you some ideas.

That's why I bought a boat dude. got pissed off at the pace of London. now I love life again! thanks for the share! :)

That's one way to do it, do you live on the boat?

I was born in 1950 and can remember, literally, some photos and adventures in my own life that were similar to your photos. Like the one pictured here, which happens to be in my garage. Thanks for the walk down memory lane...carry on.IMG_1120.JPG

Nice, she s a beauty.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 8.07% Upvote

no problem, glad you enjoyed.