I can't believe she's 12!

in #family5 years ago

My beautiful daughter at a recent grad party.

20190626_204428.jpg

I am slowly learning how to format posts on Steemit from my phone as I usually get my inspiration to write away from my computer! So after extensive reaseach of different Steemit posts, and a lot of trial and error, I am getting there! So thanks for your patience!

Anyway, back to the blog.

My daughter has never been a girly girl. Even as a baby, if I dressed her in anything floofy or fancy....explosion. No diaper could hold that in! But if she was in a sleeper, it never happened! I can't explain how or why, I just know it happened. If I tryed putting anything in her hair(she had beautiful thick dark hair right from birth), she would pull it out. And just try putting a hat in her!
But recently, I would say about the time she turned 12, she has really only wanted to wear hoodies, even in the hottest weather. We wear formal clothing a few times a week and she wants the plainest, most comfortable, leggings underneath, always a coat on, and boots. I attribute it to puberty maybe? Her body is changing and she is learning to be comfortable in her own skin?
I'm not judging her for it and I work with it as long as she takes care of her personal hygiene, which some tweens seem to have an adversion to! My daughter seems to have developed an intense dislike for showers!
But every once in awhile, she will allow me to dress her up! And as soon as she steps out of the room, where her cousins doll her up, I have to do a double take! Who is this tall statuesque being in front of me?! When did she grow up?!
Of course my daughter is beautiful to me always, but its moments like this which make me realize how fast time is going by. Pretty soon she will be grown up and out on her own. So I cherish every moment I have with her, and make sure we take trips together, just the 2 of us, so we can reconnect and solidify our relationship!

Thanks for reading and let me know any beautiful moments you have with your children, survival tips for living with a teenager, ect!