Extended Family

in #family6 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I spent this past weekend at a family reunion in Carmel Valley, California. We are a rowdy Irish- Catholic clan; my grandfather was one of five siblings, each of whom furthered the lineage with gusto. There were four generations present, ages spanning 1 to 94. It is impossible to remember everyone's names, and somewhat overwhelming to navigate the crowds. Despite this, I can assert with confidence that each one of us is loved by the rest. There is an incredible sense of belonging that comes from being in a room full of family. I inherited this amazing cluster of humans, but I would have chosen them all anyway. I do not take this for granted- how lucky we are to love the lot we've been given.


With that being said, I'd like to offer an expansive definition of "family". I define family members as people that are non- negotiable parts of our lives. What do I mean by this? Think of the people whose presence constitute your life's fabric, and whose absence would change it completely. This includes relatives of blood and water, all those chosen to sit atop branches of the family tree.

I believe in adopting family wherever we go, as it ensures that home is never very far away. We come to belong to these people, and them to us. When people expect us at events, remember our stories, and invite us to enter their homes without knocking, our sense of connection deepens. We have trusted confidantes, playmates, and partners in crime. We have purpose, a role to fill, commitments to honor. There is no better answer for a lonely heart.

I am grateful to my extended family, of blood and water, for filling my life with love.


Sort:  

yeah big family and everyone enjoyed , it's good so good luck everyone.