Let's winge about the day ahead

in #family7 years ago

Great another day of running around after these guys and all the time dragging around the two little munchkins with me has started again.
Now let's just have a winge about the things that need to be achieved today.
So at least the morning rush has ended now and I actually get a break to write this. Wake up at 7am rush out of bed and get the 3 eldest up and dressed, oh and remember to help the eldest get dressed because he has broken his wrist last week. I keep forgetting this and expecting him to be ready while I dress my daughter and scream at my other son to keep moving as he is half dressed and than just sits down to watch Tv and if you don't keep bugging him, he will just return to watching tv if I move on to something else. Get the different orders for breakfast done and than start with the lunches. Man, I hate that bit. By the time I'm finished feeding them I don't have the desire to make myself anything for breakfast other than an instant coffee.
At least now their dad does the half hour drive to school with them, leaving me a few minutes if I'm lucky enough that the other two haven't woken up yet that is.
So now it's 8am and my cheeky princess is sitting down eating her breakfast and thank god her brother is still sleeping.
Now to start getting dressed for the day and fix my unruly hair before the world sees me. I have just under two hours to get ready and clean the mess from the morning rush before we head of for a ballet class this morning.
But this afternoon is where the real rush begins. Jump in the car at 3, head to the school to be caught in the chaos of everyone picking up their kids. Oh I forgot have a meal prepared in contains that they can eat in the car on the trip back home as my daughter needs dropping of at the dance studio at 4 and can't wait to eat until she finishes at 7 to have her dinner. Rush home change the baby get the boys to put their school stuff away and bring me next weeks homework or any notes handed out and have them get dressed for karate. Make sure I have my own stuff ready for training too and something to entertain the two little ones.
With this all done and with the odd housework done in between it's off for only an hour of class tonight. While the boys attend their class i will take the two little ones with me into the next room where I will try and work out with two other mothers, all with my two under my feet.
After sweating my arse off, it's time to grab all the stuff back up and get their shoes back on to head home for showers. At least now the boys are old enough now to do this part themselves. Make a late snack if anyone is still hunger and get the boys started on the homework while chasing around the little one who in the last month has turned into a cheeky little bugger.
Get the two little ones dressed for bed and if the youngest is being to destructive put him to bed, so I can try and help the boys with their work or at least remind them to at least write neat. By now my daughter is back from class with her dad. So now the washing starts again and as she is still only 6 is too tired to try and get her to start next weeks homework. She reads to me her home reader than I will take the girls to their room and read them a quick bedtime story, tuck them in and give them imagination time. This is something we started three years ago when my eldest was struggling to fall asleep after story time. It is basically getting them to close their eyes and try and picture themselves in the story or some other activity.
Now to read the boys the next chapter in Harry Potter and if I'm lucky by this time it is only just past 8pm and I can jump in the shower and maybe relax for an hour on the lounge and actually watch something on Tv other than cartoons before heading to bed and up again early to spend half of Saturday at the dance studio with my daughter.
But I'm sure most of the parents out their can relate to this post no matter if you 1 child or 10 it is all still the same for us mums or dads, as everything is up to us to keep the house running.
Yeah I know I have bored you again with this post but I just needed to winge about it all, even though I love being so active and giving the kids all the opportunity to do the things they like in life.