The best advice that I received from my Dad

in #family2 years ago (edited)

My dad was a man of strict principles, he lived his life with utmost honesty. The place where we lived when I was young was not some posh society. We lived in a place where there were very ordinary and low-income people. And I would see that many of them would keep their Money for saving with my Dad, because they had utmost trust and faith in him that their money would be secured with him. I would always ask my dad then, why do people keep their money savings with you, what if you do not give them back. I mentioned this earlier also, unfortunately my father was alcoholic and the addiction was severe, and this would worry me more sometimes, that in his severe addiction he should not do anything wrong.

He would always tell me, one thing that I should always remember in life is to be honest with other people, be it whatever, it can be money, or some secrets they would tell you, or any personal belonging, but when they give it to you or share with you, they do it with complete trust and you should never break that trust. Because of his sincerity and honesty, he was much respected in our place and on and off whenever he would have bad health, people would immediately come for his help. These things were very emotional for me.

image.png
Source

Now when I am grown up, I too have some friends, who keep their money savings with me, for some or the other reason, and whenever anyone does that, I immediately think of my dad. Sometime back, I was falling short of cash at home as I could not withdraw it and there was something to be paid for, and my son immediately said, Mom , why don't you remove it from that savings and then tomorrow you can keep it back. For a moment I thought, yes I could do that, but then I was thinking of my dad's words that, never use someone's money, even if it is in your possession and you intend to replace it back. If there is some urgency then always check with the person and with permission use someone's money, but he would say always avoid that also.

I gave the same advice to my Son that day and I was thinking of my Dad, such wonderful learnings he gave me for life, I can pass on the same to my Son and probably some day he will pass it on to his Children as well. Our parents, elders, teach us a lot and it is so good to have them around. I miss that part of life, because I would love to have them around. My mother-in-law when she was alive, on and off we had our differences, but then as a human being she was a large-hearted woman, always wanting to help anyone who would come to her. I would see that she would go all out of the way to help others, and would take it as her responsibility to do so. She had good connections in charity organizations and people would come to her to seek help in dire situations to get help from charity, and she would attend to everyone. Every day in the evening at dinner time, she would tell us about her stories with different people who she would be assisting.

Life is beautiful having them around and learning valuable lessons of life from them. Sometimes I can't believe that they have gone away from my life, because I feel their presence all the time along my side. I feel that they are still guiding me at every step of life and giving me directions. Truly our elders are our treasures, we need to treat them valuably and take care of them.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

Here is your Proof of Brian. I think you meant #ProofOfBrain
Brian
Source

Ohh yes, that was an error. Thanx for highlighting.
Rectified :-)

My was never to smoke

That's a very good advice and hope that you followed it.

When, as a young anarchist, I told my father about my high-flying political plans,
he just laughed and said:
"If you really want to fight the government, you do so by paying as little tax as possible,
that´s where it really hurts, not protests and stuff."

That's right, no money... no power and that weakens their whole system.

Trust and Reputation is being created for ages, but they can be broken for 1 second.
A great Dad's advice

Yes my dear, it takes a life time to build it and a moment to break it. Thank you

Congratulations @nainaztengra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 12500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 13000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!

@nainaztengra - Your dad and you are absolutely right. Honesty and trust is ultimately everything in every relationship. Deceit gets people short term gains but the trustworthy ones win ultimately.

singature small avatar.png

True, other paths may seem easy but they are short lived and one cannot go far with it.

I like his honesty advice and money advice. It is amazing what influence parents can have for generations with these little saying they give to is. He taught you and you taught your son. Did his mother teach him? Was it just something g that popped in his head one day that he had learned and so he taught you? What an impact. :) it is amazing.

Yes, his mother too was a very honest lady and she was a woman of very high principles and values and as you say this gets passed on from one line to other and it becomes so much of a generational thing.