MONSTER-TRUCK THE AMAZING!

in #family7 years ago

I don’t know what got into this boy, but WOW!


So far, @mama-pepper and I have five @little-peppers, all age seven and below. The one in the cover photo is our oldest son, “Monster Truck,” who is currently four years old. Since we have not officially began homeschooling him yet, he mostly hangs out with me throughout the day when I am at home.

I teach and train him in things that are at his capability level and level of understanding, and try to model for him how a man should live, work, and interact with others. Though is not learning things from a schoolbook, this little guy is learning.

However, much like a lot of us, he has his moments. Sometimes, he acts up or acts out, and he can make things rough for others as well as himself. Through repeated instruction and correction, he’s making progress day by day. Yesterday, though, he was amazing!

THAT’S MY BOY!

Currently, I am remodeling a guesthouse near where we are staying. We are tearing out the carpet to replace it with an engineered wood flooring, repainting the place, do many minor repairs and improvements, and trying to make it shine by the time that we are done. It’s a lot of work, but I’m hoping to finish my part of the work this week. However, this can be tough, especially for just one man. Since this place is very close to where we stay, I’ve got my boy tagging along with me. While he is free to play and entertain himself in other ways, often he just wants to help.

”Helping” for a child of his age isn’t always “helpful,” if you know what I mean. Where many would decline the offer made by such a young man, I’m of another mindset. If this guy wants to learn real life skills when he’s four, then he can learn. Worst case scenario, when he gets older, he’ll already know how to work like a champ because he’s at least seen it done. Though one may not always be capable of completing the task, if someone is familiar with the concept and general idea, it’ll be much easier to do once they are able to do it. Though I expected him to mostly watch me work, he really got in there and was able to bless me.

HE JUST KEEPS GOING!

Time and time again he was a capable, and willing, assistant for me in my day of work. @Mama-pepper had taken the girls and the baby to town to do some shopping after school was over, so I got some extra time to work on this project, and “Monster Truck” was right there with me until the end. He helped remove painting tape, hand me tools all day, roll up the carpet and underlayment, and much, much more.

He even scraped, and scraped, and scraped to get the floor clean of all glue and residue. Normally, he’ll lose interest after a few minutes, after all, he is just a little boy. However, for some reason he kept going. I was so blown away that I began to take photos working so hard. I even asked him if children were just free labor for the parents. He laughed, because he knows that is not the case. Helping out makes him feel big, prepares him for life, and lets him have some fun with me. Sure, it’s work, but it doesn’t have to be a sad, dreary time. We can talk, have fun, and enjoy our time together. Interestingly enough, when a neighbor stopped in to work on a few other things in the house, Monster Truck was the only one of us who had a tape measure, which the man needed to use several times. We had bought him a little tape measure months ago, and somehow he knew it would be a good idea to bring it with him. I didn't even realize that he had it. I’m not sure how many people really enjoy things like this with their children, but I sure am glad that I can. I’ve met a lot of “young men” in my time who seem to be lazy, entitled fools with no work ethic or respect for anyone or anything, themselves included. I think that there are already too many people like that out there for me to teach, *or allow*, my children to do the same. I’m not sure what their future will hold, but I want them to at least be prepared to do the best job that they can, and also to know exactly what they can do.

I hope that you enjoyed this little story about my son. Perhaps he’ll be helping me put in the flooring today. After all, it is basically just one giant puzzle!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper….

But we were too busy working to prove it.



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great job helping Dad, Monster Truck. We love you.

I'll let him know that you said that Dad.

Your son is real adorable, smart and hardworking for his age..The whole story shows his interest and dedication towards work.

@papa-pepper You're doing a great job letting your child help with stuff at home! Makes the child a lot happier and conveys the message that he worked for the presents and treats you give him! It's also a life lesson for him.

Good job!

Wish you and your sweet, big family health and safety!

The inspiration of human life is very much needed. People can not work without inspiration.

You are rocking the parenting!
If kids did not enjoy what they are doing or spending time with someone then they will show it and it will not happen!
Enjoy all the time you spend with them, they are worth it!

Thank you for that!

Mine was that age when he climbed under the hood of my car to help make it better ;-)
Yup he turned into a grease monkey later on...

Amazing kid, you got yourself a creative doer, Thanks for opening up.

Your son not only works but he appears to be happy doing it! Quite an impressive young man!

That he is, today I even have more helping, and they are all happy!

good to see this

That's what a good papa should do being a good example to your sons, thumbs up @papa-pepper. I'm sure your little-peppers are proud of you :)

Oh my! This is so adorable. He doesn't only act smart but he looks smart. No one would want to mess with a kid like him. You are doing it right @papa-pepper, i like what little pepper is doing already. Great job @papa-pepper and @mama-pepper .

Thank you for the encouragement!

Thanks for sharing. As a Godly father you are showing him what it looks like to be a man that invests into them and to teach them! Thanks for posting @papa-pepper

I appreciate your encouragement!

Monster Truck rocks!
What an awesome little dude. He will go far in life and you are giving him all the skills he needs to go where others can't or won't go, because it requires effort.

I can remember doing similar stuff with my dad when I was a kid, stripping and cleaning engines, gardening and stuff.

I didn't realise then how it was preparing me for the real world, but I'm glad of the education I got, because now I can run rings around others and work harder and longer than most of the people I meet.

it allowed me to gain respect from all sorts of people I worked with, in many different jobs, because i would work all day, and come back the next day and do it all over again.

So once again @papa-pepper, in awe of your parenting skills. ;-)

i love it when i see good origunal content post. Direcrly posting what happen in your daily activities is enough as a post.

Well done wonderful pictures how beautiful it helps you to work

This is so great, I think nothing is more important than a good work ethic and motivation. Your really setting you kids in the right path and look forward to doing the same when they are a bit older. I spent countless hours help my dad, uncles and grandfathers with similar thing when I was growing up.

Glad to hear that you grew up in a similar way! Thanks for the encouragement!

Apart from being good at teaching your son. You have to also be glad that he is willing to learn and he's learning. Not all children learn and help their fathers. You should buy him sweet.. *smiles

Truly I am blessed!

Blessed indeed!.. Cheers..

@papa-pepper Its just felt like my past.I use to help my father in cleaning and dusting every morning.Thank you for reminding me those wonderful memories.

Glad that I could bring back some good memories!

What a great helper. I know I would have loved to do this stuff when I was 4.

I did enjoy this story. MT is well on his start in life. Last photo is precious. His smile is all you need to know.

Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he shall not depart from it! Awesome brother!

Amen to that!

Love this!! You are both so fortunate to have each other to learn from!! We need more families like yours.

Aww, thank you so much for that!

My oldest just turned 4 and he has helped with some of the projects this last year but I will be having him with me a lot more this next growing season. His desire to help is already strong so I'm hoping to leverage that into a strong work ethic. Leading by example helps, but there is nothing that compares to one on one teaching time.

Children say they learn from us but nothing compared to what we learn from them. Innocence, kindness, sincerity and sweetness is little to say for how much they teach us. Many blessings for your child, it's adorable.

I was air force pilot abd one thing i know and lije iz technology . I support you. Good post

He looks like a really nice kid! Congratulations!

That he is! Thank you.

Haha! So I have some adorable granddaughters, turned 4 a couple weeks ago. How do you feel about arranged marriages? LOL! He is ADORABLE, and I have no doubt he will grow strong in body, mind and spirit.

Thanks for that. How many sheep for a granddaughter? Lol.

Ohhh, some days, about 3 AM, one. LOL!

Although it might take me a while to find a sheep. Would you take chickens?

This is so special,@papa-pepper! When children do something like this it always blows away. But soon he will be an even better helper. Enjoy these years @papa-pepper. They grow up so fast. These years are import for you and your son to bond. Not all fathers get this opportunity.

I am glad that this father is getting the chance. Thank you.

You are doing a great job at raising that precious children God gave you. Children learn by example, so well done @papa-pepper.

Amazing kid😁

Yes!! The soil is there...sew into them!

But won't your needles rust? ;-)

Haha 🤗🙃

@little-pepper is quite a young man, i am always happy when i see a father teaching his children work ethics and preparing them for life and its challenges.. Thanks for sharing an important part of your life with us @papa-pepper, you make parenting look fun.

Developing a sound work ethic at age 4. You are a model to fathers everywhere! Resteemed!

Wonderful example of how kids should be taught, and with a smile of enjoyment! They are lucky !