Preparing for a trip to Texas! -To meet my Dad in person for the first time in my 27 years!

in #family8 years ago

Just this year I was able to finally find my dad! He left my life at the age of one/two years old due to a bad devoice he and my my mother went through. The courts had ordered him a no contact order until my sister and I were the age of 18. Well We live in Pennsylvania so Texas (where his whole family is originally from) is pretty far away! Luckily I was able to use the World Wide Web to find my older brother who i have also never met in person and he was able to give me my dads phone number. I have spoken to him and gotten to get as close as we can over the phone and also with his condition. My father had retired a couple years ago, and after never touching a drop of alcohol, and avoided tobacco his entire life, was taken down by sugar from everyday average soda pop. 5 Days after my fathers retirement I found out he had suffered a stroke and it didnt go so well. My dad now has very bad short term memory loss, which gets annoying answering the same question 30 times or so in a single hour conversation of the telephone.
This is very sad he is in this condition but I am also very happy that I have ever got the chance to talk to him. Growing up my entire life i was teased for not having a dad, and it made me sad and upset that others had their fathers and I couldn't even recognize my own even if her were standing in the same room as me.


My goal has been to make it down south to see him and stay with him for a mini vacation and also get the chance the catch up with him an get to maybe know him. My brother says his time on earth will not much longer.
He tole me he loves me, and that not a days go by that he didn't think about me or my sister. I also found out he had a picture of me from when I was 2 years old hanging out the Human Resources office on their cork board for well over 10 years. I am nervous but I am hoping to make enough money for that when I am off work around Christmas I will be able to go down and see him. So that is my goal. To take a trip to Texas to meet my dad for the first time i will ever remember! I could never live with myself if I didnt get the chance to see him because It tool so long and something bad happening.

Sort:  

Enjoy Your Trip

You're doing the right thing :) All the best and do not delay!