Are Child Protection Agencies the Heroes they Purport to be?

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

How is everyone doing today? How's your family? Kindly allow me to take a detour from posting recipes to talk about an issue that has overwhelmingly touched my heart. You see I recently came across #familyprotection tag and was shocked and saddened by some of the posts I read. Why? Well, the forum raises global awareness on how Child Protection agencies have in the past and continually tear up families unjustly.

Image 1.jpeg

Several individuals that have in one way or another been affected by this crude system boldly continue to share their stories on the platform. And the few stories I've read brought me to tears. I mean my parents' love has been so impactful in my life that I can't imagine where I would be if I grew up without them. Similarly, of the pain they would have been subjected to had someone wrongfully decided to take my siblings and I from them and called it justice.

No one should have that kind of power, but the system does. And it's not a fair fight, most parents if not all cannot afford to pay for good legal representation. So most cases end the same, in favor of Child Protection Services. As a result, families are separated for life, decades, years etc, but even if it were just for days or maybe even hours, it is trauma no caring parents and their children should ever have to go through.

Image 1b.jpeg

I do, however, completely understand and respect the need for Child Protection agencies as there are a few scenarios that would call for placing a child in a better environment. However, one must ask the question, what of the times these agencies were wrong? What then? I'll tell you what, we speak out, we enlighten each other, we support each other, and more importantly, we fight FOR each other NOT each other.

Image 2.jpeg

I mean why wait until you are a victim or until someone you love falls prey to this injustice to do something? I am not asking to march to the streets with banners shouting and screaming. No, but lend a listening ear, a shoulder to cry on, and share words of hope with people the system failed. You just might help someone overcome emotional trauma such as depression, guilt, PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder) etc.

We may not know these victims in person, I don't know any. However, we know that they are parents looking to get their children back and children hoping to reunite with parents after many years. I don't know about you, but that's enough for me to know I stand with them against the system that wrongfully brought them so much agony.

So, guys, other than recipes I will henceforth be covering several family protection issues from time to time. It is something I feel passionate about, speaking for and with the voiceless as we try to overturn a corrupt system. Join me and hundreds of others in this movement and let's rub off the 'in' in injustice together!

Image 3.jpeg

  • Licensed images used
Sort:  
This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection
Governments around the world are using "Child Protection Agencies" to take children away from loving families and place them in foster care or group homes, or put them up for adoption.

THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.
Thank-you @janna.bright for supporting our community.

To Help Us Help Families in Crisis, all you need to do is UPVOTE this Comment and DONATE a Portion of the SBD Rewards from this post.
(If you @janna.bright perceive this comment to be spam or a scam we will remove it at your request, Every penny we raise will go to helping families in need as all the funds we raise are transparent and accounted for.)

Thank you for resteeming. I was planning to donate part of the eventual payouts from this post, but didn't know how. Now I know where to donate. You guys doing a great job! Good luck to you all and patience in your deeds

Indeed, lawyers are costly and fighting a big institution like Child Protective Services with your side of the story is out of the realm of possibility for many parents. I shiver to think about being in a situation that some parents are in, as you're describing. While CPS does a lot of good, there are situations where there are just misunderstandings that can't be turned around, I'm sure. Chilling to think about.

Exactly @torreypines, and that is why we need to speak out for such parents that literally have their hands tied to their back in the fight for child custody. And hopefully a time will come when we can say CPS is 100% fair and that no families are being victimized due to as you say, a misunderstanding. Thanks for your input :)

@janna.bright you have truly spoken well, until we begin to fight For each other and not Against each other, the system would continue to win us

Thanks @royaltiesboss-eu Feedback like yours is what encourages me to keep speaking out on topics I find relevant such as this

Not all people have the happiness of growing up with their parents so thank all the days of life that it was, as well as I thank you for your support. If you want to continue supporting us please read my last post where I give tools to the parents of the children who are going through the separation due to the CPS

Thanks for your input @psicmarynes I will definitely check your blog

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs. Thank you for your support of @familyprotection