You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I love Star Trek - and my Mom

in #fan-art8 years ago

I agree - Gene Roddenberry had an incredible vision for his universe. It's one that not only lasted the test of time (hurray 50 years!) - it's brought us space shuttles named Enterprise, communicators in the form of cell phones and more recently, replicators in the form of 3D printers.

Like you, what I loved about this world wasn't just aliens and spaceships but the camaraderie - crews working together to overcome incredible odds. While some people have this thing about Star Wars versus Star Trek, they're missing the point. Gene Roddenberry pictured a world where diversity was not only valued but celebrated as a way of bringing us together.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment - I couldn't agree with you more!