Sort:  

Following. I too am all about open source, farming, technology, automation, freedom, sustainability and blending them all together! Look forward to hearing more from you.

I wonder if you're familiar with Holmgren's scenarios and how such a high-tech system would survive in 3 out of 4 of those?

I'd much rather have a low-tech or no-tech solution, to a high tech one. In other words, it's great to use the technology while we can, but we need to use it to transition to a world not dependent on technology. Ben Falk's work also comes to mind.

I 100% agree :D Thank you so much for that awesome link- great resources! I'm new to the 'actually running a farm' thing. I grew up on a small farm (my mothers dad was a bit of a western cowboy)... my fathers father helped start a very large portion of Silicon Valley. People don't understand where their devices come from- or just how unsustainable the actual creation of tech is for the earth. Thank you for the link and thoughts!

Oh! If that's the case, I suspect this interview will be of interest to you:

As well as David's new book, Retrosuburbia:
https://www.retrosuburbia.com/case-studies/

There needs to be a love button. Thank you for this very awesome link. I'm going to put it into my 'blog about this idea' que.

On a mission to build something like this. Maybe not with this larger-scale approach, but the high-tech integrated homestead is a personal goal of mine, so thanks for sharing :)

Hey Kevin- when we get things a little more habitable for guests (tiny-home villages in the works) you'll have to come visit and vice versa. We're going to be offering a real-world exchange program that allows people to stay at places and learn. (Think an exchange program/wwoofing/airbnb with a blockchain currency-ish concept). Thanks for the comment!

Let me know once you get to that point.

will do :D