My Goat has a Strange habit

in #farming6 years ago

Greetings Steemit! It seems like it has been FOREVER since I have gotten on here. Life on the homestead has kept me busy and so much has changed. I will be posting a update post later to get everyone up to speed and I will try and get on here more often and really share all the exciting things that go on here at Autumn Rayne Acres.

But back to the goat. So, I was out weeding (a never ending job around here) my tomato garden. The tomatoes are planted out by our where the animals are housed. The goat and sheep yard are not as well shaded as the chicken and duck run - so, during these hot days I open the gates between the two yards so the "Geeps" (goat and sheep) can get in under the shade. This is where things get a little peculiar with Queen Mary (the goat) instead of seeking out the cooler parts of the yard like the Sheep, Sir Henry and Lady Clara. Mary instead chooses to plant herself in the chickens dust bath witch is out in the open.
Queen Mary in Pool.jpg

But, she seems so content in what she has now claimed as "her pool" and sits out there and chews her cud without a care in the world while Henry and Clara beat the heat in the shade of the chicken coop. All too often I find Mary out in the open during the day when all the others have retreated to the shade of the trees. She has plenty of access to fresh clean water and free choice hay - so hey who am I to question her crazy desire to stand out in the heat! Queen Mary sure is a funny little thing.

a little bit more about Queen Mary - she is a Silky (mix I think) Fainting goat. She is now two - so rarely full on faints any more. I have only seen her do it once and that was when my husband started the lawn tractor close to their yard. Instead, now that she is older - when she gets frightened her legs stiffen up and she walks around like a peg legged pirate. We have only had the Geeps for a short while now - around 8 weeks. they are fitting in to the swing of things and slowly but surely I am gaining this little ladies trust and affection. On the rare occasion I can steal a sweet little goat kiss from her so long as I am packing goat crack (raisins). Queen Mary is a personality unto herself and she definitely has some of the strangest little quirks. But, she fits in here at Autumn Rayne Acres - a Farm for wayward and special needs animals.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bthompson! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Belgium vs Japan


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi bthompson, I enjoyed your photo. Is it true that goats eat cloths?

HI @cosmophobia - I have never experienced this personally. contrary to popular belief goats can be very picky and particular eaters. Also, there are quite a few foods that are toxic to goats so you really have to be careful what they are exposed too. My goats and sheep love grapes and cucumbers though.