Foam is home! Now construction of walk in cooler begins!

in #farming6 years ago

6a4ba335-a82a-4601-a1a4-a83cfce6d3fb.jpeg


After picking up grain this morning I stopped at Home Depot and purchased 5 sheets of 2 inch thick, 4x8 ft rigid insulation. This is the main insulator for the cooler, but the moisture barrier and the metal faced office partitions should get me into the r20+ range. The foam is r10 by itself.

Now that it is going to be triple digit heat I need to work inside during the mid day so this is the perfect project.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I love the building, especially when it's done by my own hands. This is a good experience!

That is cool. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how this comes together.

Oh cool. Is this your first post on cooler? I dont know how you build this. This is something id like to build. What are you going to use cooler for?

I grow beans and squash so this will primarily be for that. I have been kicking the idea around in a few previous posts but this is the start of my construction posts for this cooler.

:) this should be cool :)

Growing up in the restaurant and bar business, I can say that walk in coolers are AWESOME! (and they're soundproof when you need to scream at the top of your lungs because customers can be stupid). LOL

I spent much of my childhood at my grandmother's hotel at the south entrance to Yosemite. I LOVED the walk in cooler. That one is about 10x8ft, a good bit bigger than mine, but they also had a restaurant and bar to run. And yes, they are quite sound proof!