~°*°~ 3 clever ways to repurpose old clothing items ~°*°~

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

Before social-media our fashion choices were different. We could carry a handbag for 30 days in a row because no one saw it. One's closet weren't simply as exposed as they are today. Social media encourages the mentality that once an outfit or item is shared with the public, it can never be worn or photographed.

Well, I cannot go through this psychological shift because I cannot afford to buy new clothes only to wear it once. Yes, I am poor.
So all you poor people out there, this post is for you.

Here are 3 clever (basic) ways to repurpose old clothings to make it look new every time we wear it.

#1. Customise Ugly Clothes.....

PhotoGrid_1523806924335.jpg

We all have that clothing item which has a lot of potential but somehow looks ugly when we put it on. Maybe for the fittings or the design. We just cannot figure out what is wrong. And because we are so busy doing nothing we just throw it in our closet never to be seen (easy way out). As a result, a pile of clothes in our closet but nothing to wear. ( Here, I just solved a mystery).

I had this top from many days but not wearing it (dah! Ugly). So one fine day I made time from my busy schedule and took it to my tailor. (Being a Bangladeshi Lady, a Tailor Mama is one of the most important person in our lives). Being the magician, Tailor Mama cut off the sleeves and shortened the length of this top. You can see the result in photo. My perfect summer tunic from an ugly top was created. Trendy and comfortable.

#2. Old Vintage Gold Piece.....

PhotoGrid_1523806846944.jpg

Who are those people ? Who has been protective and possessive for their mother's and grandmother's (even better) old clothes. Don't need to raise your hands. I see you people, our stars are connected.

So this one of a kind embroidered Kashmiri shawl (being too extra) of my mother has always been my most favorite since childhood. I didn't even touch it then because I was waiting to be all grown up and pretty to do justice to this prettiness. ( Actually my mother didn't let me touch it because I used to ruin everything she owns. Thank you Mother! For not letting me ruin the most precious thing I have right now).
Anyways, I always wear this shawl with neutral colors because it has a very vibrant color and texture. And I want to make this shawl to be the central of attraction of my outfit.
Yes guys, we women make simplest stuff that much important in their lives. That's how we process.

I#3. Old Vintage not so Gold Piece.....

PhotoGrid_1523806982574.jpg

This jacket is my mom's from her teenage time. You know those late 70's loose shirt/jacket fashion trend. Yeah !
So, when I found it, it wasn't in a good shape. Dirty, missing buttons, loose threads coming out from everywhere. In short not wearable. When I was almost convinced to throw it away, I noticed it certainly has amazing fabric quality and it was made in a perfect way. So I fixed every unfixed and tried it on. It was a blessing in disguise. I will not find this kind of clothes today. And I wore it almost everyday last winter.

Because the color of this jacket is monochromatic, I layered it with a flannel check shirt which has a bright vibrant color. I think it is important to maintain color balance of your outfit.

So these are my tips and tricks to wear new clothes everyday. I hope this post will make a little difference in your fashion choices. I love sharing my not so important ideas with you guys.

You'll see more posts like this in my profile. If you like it follow me and comment your thoughts..
And upvote it...

Thank you .

Sort:  

Wow, that was a great post.I enjoy wearing used clothing that hasn't seen too much life.I recycle all my clothing and give it away.I only buy new socks and underwear.I could almost afford new but why when there is so much good quality used clothing and accessories out there.I call them bargains!

Wow, recycling clothes from a man's perspective seems so unique.
Well we women recycle clothes and also buy new clothes..

Congratulations @whenwhatwear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I like your style 👍

Congratulations @whenwhatwear! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!