Three different Sunbird species.

288.jpg

An exclusive here today, as these birds can only be seen in Southern Africa.

I open the post in the first photo with the blue underside of the famous Malachite Sunbird.
So we have 3 photos of the Malachite, 2 photos of the Southern Double-collared Sunbird and 3 photos of the Orange Breasted Sunbird.
I was blessed to get them all in one place on a local farm here.

First we have the beautiful Malachite Sunbird (Nectarinia famosa)!

Yes indeed the Malachite is not the beautiful green color all over, as his underside is blue.
287.jpg

Here you can see the Malachite's metallic green upper body.
359.jpg

Second is the Southern Double-collard Sunbird (Cinnyris chalybeus)!

I am a bit biased here as the Malachite is a favorite, but this little bird (the smallest of the sunbirds) is the best singer.
283.jpg

The great thing is that all three of the sunbirds here have metallic colors.
285.jpg

Third we have the Orange-breasted Sunbird (Anthobaphes violacea)!

I wanted to show you how beautiful he is from behind.
317.jpg

A side shot here to show you his metallic green/blue head.
335.jpg

And finally here he was taking off.
340.jpg

I love these little birds and have grown so fond of them that I can hear and follow each one's call in nature. Unfortunately I have the habit of disappearing for long periods following the bird's call, as there are so my other distractions to take photos of and poor Marian has to sit and wait.

Now an hour to wait is not so bad, but when it stretches slightly to two or 3 hours, then I can have a problem when I return. But thankfully by now she knows me and often times when she thinks I am going to vanish, she comes with and vanishes with me hahaha.
Such is life and I just don't know why women are so clever.

And That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.
Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS.

We hope that you have enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

Sort:  

The green metallic color may be a distinct physical character to regroup these spieces.
Thank you for sharing this article.
Peace

That green mettalic color changes to blue when the sun is not around my friend.
The species are determined by many factors, but mainly by what they eat, such as seeds, insects or in the sunbirds case, nectar.

Glad that you liked the post.

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @oadissin, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.