You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Literary Mashup: A Furry Little Love Triangle

in #fiction6 years ago

That was flippin awesome when I saw the title I was expecting a catastrophe. Then you start reading and it's all good, it's a people story until he decides to take a nap... That was good and smooth, almost so smooth you are left thinking What? and then your brain catches up...

Sort:  

Thanks. Glad you liked it. Feel free to check out this longer read. More of the same whacked out stuff.

I may do that finding the time is always my issue. I bookmarked it and will return. I wish I was a writer, but I did not get that gene. I will say that some of your work puts me in the mind of Piers Anthony, and some of his Xanth novels. You might think about the comedy open mic contest as well, this would place well in that contest.

Yeah, Piers Anthony may have been a small influence.

Funny story. My 11th grade English class was assigned to write a story and I used the word "xanthous" in it. My English teacher flipped out. "Taylor," he said, (he liked calling people by their last names) "keep your audience in mind." I laugh about it now, but at the time I thought he was being a jerk. It actually taught me something. When I got serious about being a writer, I'd remember that. I think about it all the time now. It keeps me on track. Whenever I write something, I always ask myself, who is my audience? And I write for that audience.

Ironic twist: My 11th grade English teacher's name was Ward English. And he ran his class like a ward--a prison ward. Or a lunatic ward. Either way, he taught people stuff. At that time, I didn't like him. A lot of other students did. He was a much better teacher than I gave him credit for, even if he didn't like the word "xanth."

Well, your audience just got a little larger. For some reason, Anthony has come up a couple times over the last couple of weeks. @improv likes him and has a punday Monday contest, that fit very well with Anthony's genre.
I sometimes wish I would have paid better attention in English, it was not my subject. I am horrid at fictional writing, but I rather excel at technical writing, but I do struggle with executive summaries. Probably for the reason you suggested, writing for my audience, I typically expect executives to be savvier than they are at times. It's sad really, I'm not a writer but I put out 30 to 60 thousand words a week, according to my Grammarly account.

Technical writing ain't easy, so if you're doing it, you must have something going for you. I guess that makes you a writer. We come with different stripes.