Fiction Trail: Author Smackdown with @spark

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Fiction-Trail: Author Smackdown!
Every week fiction-trail will choose
an author and contributor of Fiction
on Steemit and poke them with the jabby jabbertalk stick!


This week we speak to the author of The Pirate's Last Wish - @spark! Lets see what's kind of salt he has behind his ears.. aarrr!

FT: How and when did you first learn about Steemit?

S: I met Kenny, (@kennyskitchen) in Boulder, Colorado, and he told me about Steemit, and the posts he makes - recipes, travel blogs, and more. The idea of Steemit intrigued me, so I signed up soon after. As it turns out, I became super busy for a couple months, so I didn't start engaging with the community and posting until two months after I signed up. I appreciate the vision of Steemit, even though my window of engagement is fairly small compared to many, I imagine.

FT: Active enough to get noticed! Had you posted much in the fiction category before the fiction trail began?

S: I posted a rousing sword and sorcery short story on Steemit, prior to learning of the fiction trail. And I've been working on a fantasy novella about right-use of power and a teen's coming-of-age while overcoming a disability.

FT: Has your approach to the fiction category changed?

S: Well, yes. I learned from a friend that if I want to get an agent and publish my work then I shouldn't post it on any website. So that's put a damper on posting some of my writing on Steemit. I'll probably post some teaser chapters from the piece I'm working on, "A Broken Phoenix Flies", and I'm sure I'll be posting other creative writing that I don't aim to publish. I've also been enjoying the Fifty Word Fiction Frenzy that @son-of-satire is managing. It's a community co-created story. I invite everyone to join in through writing and/or voting on the submissions!

FT: Can you give us a brief insight into your history as an author and a bit of background about yourself

S: I've written dozens of roleplaying adventures for my live-action roleplaying programs (LARP) at Renaissance Adventures. Writing adventures is very different than writing a short story or novel, because there are no protagonists written into those adventures. The children and teens who sign up for the Adventure Quest programs become the protagonists in the LARP, and have full freedom to make decisions that affect the co-created story. So the writing I do for the LARPs focuses on a highly motivating plot, environment, setting, notable characters, and the potential challenges - physical, mental, social, and creative.

FT: Aaaarrr, that be splendid! If you could be an animal what would it be?

S: Funny you should ask! That's a question I pose to the children in my LARP programs because they create a fantasy character to roleplay in the adventures, such as a howler wolf-person, or a hawkwing totemic (half animal and half humanoid - they talk, can hold and manipulate objects, intelligent, etc.). Personally, I connect with bears and wolves and many animals, but if I were to reincarnate as an animal, I'd prefer being a hummingbird - exploring the jungle and skies, and eating the nectar of flowers. I like the feeling I have when I imagine flight! I also love the ocean, but it's a fish-eat-fish world out there!

FT: A hummingbird eh, good answer! Moving on... What excites you as a reader and as a writer?

S: I'm a passionate reader and writer on the topic of who we are - our minds, hearts, and spirit. I am excited to explore people's psyche, behaviors, challenges, the light and dark sides of ourselves, and potential for transformation.

For example, the protagonist in The Pirate's Last Wish is a powerful tyrannical warrior-mage who takes what he wants through force. The story is about how he found a new, more compassionate and more satisfying way of life. That's a tough topic to make believable. I want the reader to be able to empathize with the protagonist, and the subtle shifts in his psyche.

FT: Are you tied to a particle genre or are you broad minded in that respect?

MG: I'm passionate about the fantasy genre, especially sword and sorcery. I don't see a lot of authors exploring the psyche in a believable way and to the depth I seek, in that genre. I've a few kick-ass stories to tell, and am looking forward to fleshing them out.

I do storytelling performances in schools for anywhere up to a hundred or two hundred children at a time. I love to see the response of children when I'm telling a fantastical tale with magic, interesting mythical characters, and fascinating mysteries and plots.

FT: Has Steemit changed the way you write?

S: Some of the writing challenges have been stretching me out of the fantasy genre, and that's been fun! I'd love to write a cyberpunk novel sometime, but I'm just not that scientifically-minded. The 50 Word Fiction Frenzy has given me an opportunity to write in different genres.

FT: How much of your writing is influenced by your life?

S: That's a trick question, right? I imagine 100%! I don't mean that I necessarily write about my experiences and my life, but certainly the exploration into my psyche and other's psyches has greatly informed my writing. Notably, my ongoing work in group practices that incorporate awareness, communication, and creative expression.

FT: You got me there, yes there is an element of trickery in that question. What would you say is your finest Steemit post in any category not necessarily the most lucrative?

S: Thus far, "The Pirate's Last Wish". I imagine many people won't read it, as it's in the fantasy genre, which I think many people ignore and/or judge. However, I believe there is a depth and passion in that short story that can be inspiring to many readers. See part 1The Pirate's Last Wish

FT: And finally. What advice would you give to a new steemian wishing to write and potentially get noticed on Steemit

S: Focus on the community, not the payout. Find awesome posts and people, and follow them. Engage with them through commenting. The more you relax and enjoy the process, the more you'll enjoy Steemit. If you approach it as a fun creative and social exploration, rather than as a money game, I think you'll enjoy the journey!

As to the goal you mentioned of how to get noticed - commenting on people's posts has the potential of drawing their attention to you. If they are interested in your comments then they may check out what you've been blogging, and they may choose to follow you. From what I can tell, financial success on Steemit depends on growing your followers and, of course, posting quality content. And by quality, I don't just mean the blog message, I also mean grammar, spelling, layout, and graphics.

As for me, I'm a casual writer and commenter on Steemit. I'm not playing the game to grow swiftly and reap financial rewards. Yes, the potential for financial recognition is appealing. However, my primary reason of exploring Steemit is to engage to the small extent I can, and grow and learn through posting and reading.

Well well well, a dash of Pirate, a sprinkling of salt and a fine insight into @spark! I recommend you check out The Pirate's Tale, all 4 parts!

Follow for featured authors each week where we can learn of writing, fiction and odd favourite animal choices.

published by @fiction-trail, written by @meesterboom

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $35.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Interesting and fun read! Although I'm not particularly a fantasy reader, I do enjoy some, so am going to check out your blog. It was particularly great to read that you do storytelling performances for children in schools - awesome!

Thanks! I love doing storytelling for schools. I make it interactive, so either some of the kids are in costume and acting out the story I'm telling, or I'm calling on them to help solve the mystery of the tale.

That is just so cool! BTW, I'm now following you and enjoying your story (about to read part 3 of The Pirate's Tale) ... but can't find somewhere to post a comment? Am I missing something?

Ah, I believe that after a certain number of weeks the "Reply" button is not available. I notice it's still available on Chapters 3 and 4 of my tale, but not 1 and 2 at this time.

Thanks @meesterboom and @fiction-trail! Fun interview!

You had done great answers, thank you!