Brian the little seagull- An original story - fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

                                                                 

Image source

Once upon a time there was a little seagull named Brian. He lived with his parents  in the most beautiful place on earth, close to the Galapagos islands. They had all they needed in the world. There were plenty of fish in the sea and they were safe, because there were not many predators around. They lived a happy carefree life. Brian had many friends and they played all over the island during the day.  

All the little seagulls were very excited when the day finally arrived for them to start with flying lessons. They were taught the basics in class, and they all practiced their own flying techniques during the day.  They couldn't wait for the day when they would actually be allowed to fly on their own. After weeks of actual practice on the ground, the teacher thought that they were ready and told them that he would take them flying the next day.  

                                                            

Image source

They all climbed up to the highest rock and everyone was so excited that they couldn't stop talking.  They stood in a long row and each of them would get a turn to fly.  Brian was number 6 in the row. As it came closer to his turn, Brian became more nervous.  He did not think that he could do this. It looked so easy, but what if it wasn't?  What if he falls and break a wing, then he would NEVER be able to fly again...Brian totally lost all his confidence.  To give himself more preparation time, and to build up more courage, he let everyone pass him in the row, until he was the only one left on that rock.

There was no turning back now, but Brian was still scared to fly. What if he couldn't flap his wings fast enough?  

Mr Mike stepped in behind Brian and encouraged him to take the jump. Brian's heart was pounding and it felt as if his heart was going to jump out his throat. Mr Mike told Brian to close his eyes to be more relaxed....and then he pushed Brian off the rock!  

Brian could see his life flash in front of him as he tumbled to the ground.  He could hear everyone cheering him and all he could hear was FLAP YOUR WINGS!!!! 

As soon as the adrenaline kicked in, Brian started flapping his wings and when he caught the turn of the wind and spread open his wings, he majestically started to fly....

We are often so scared to try new things in life, that we just give up.  Sometimes all that we need is a little push from someone to build up the courage to achieve great things.  WE are all destined for something great, and may today be that day.  One little step at a time...because every little step brings us closer to that great big step that we have to take to achieve what we want to achieve.  NEVER DOUBT YOURSELF.  

Have a blessed day!

Please follow me 

Sort:  

I could see these in a pre school/ year one format with the necessary pictures.
Would be a best seller, keep going.

I was thinking of that. I have a brilliant artist in one of my classes and want her to do the illustrations. Do you really think that people would buy the book???LOL!

it and the little donkey are every bit as good as what I read to my youngsters at bedtime. lots of pretty pictures and you will be a double millionaire, once with the book, once with steem.

What a great story. Again! I love the story. 😃

Really cute story. I like how you had a moral to the story at the end. When I was young I had no fear and would have had no problem jumping. These days I'm a bit more cautious to take on new things.

Very cute character compared to real seagulls :) Nice story

Great story, keep on going!! Parents will love the stories as it has life lessons.

@giantbear, I hope you are compiling these short stories into a book!
I'm seeing a trend in confidence stories :)

Ha ha ha....so many people say I should...maybe I must. I am so limited with time and I have exactly two hours to write a story per day. I am timing myself. If this continues then one day...I might be able to stop teaching and spend more time on this. I love writing and I honestly pray and hope that I can succeed on this platform...and perhaps others to do this for a living.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.