Phone Call

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

The phone rang with an abrasive clamor, imitating church bells sped up to three times their ordinary speed. I jumped out of bed immediately, presumably because human instinct demands that loud noises prompt us out of sleep lest we be devoured by predators. I ran to pick up the phone to stop the damn ringing.

The Caller ID read "Unknown Number." I contemplated letting it ring. It was only a few days until Election Day and it was probably someone volunteering at a phone bank. Or maybe it was someone from my old college asking for donations. Maybe it was a telemarketer. Maybe it was a scam offering to clean my carpets at a low cost. Or maybe there was some slight chance that this one singular phone call could change my whole entire life for reasons yet to be known.

The least likely possibility was all too tempting. I picked it up, suppressing my "I just got out of bed" voice.

“…Hello?”
Silence. I held a beat, and inched back into my inquiry.
“…Hello? Hello? Is anyone there??”
A little voice responded to me in a whisper. A little girl.
“Is this my Aunt Maria?”
“No, I’m sorry, you have the wrong number. Good luck finding your aunt.” I pulled the phone away from my ear to hit the red end call button.

IMG_6080.JPG

Noah Purifoy Foundation / Joshua Tree, California / May 2018

“Please, don’t hang up the phone. Could you help me find my Aunt Maria? I’m lost.” The voice was small, and soft, and vaguely desperate.
I briefly contemplated her request. Was this a prank? Was this someone’s sick idea of a joke?
“Um, okay. What’s your name, sweetie? How old are you?”
“I’m Eloisa. I’m going to be eight next month. Aunt Maria said she would throw me a party with balloons and I was going to wear a princess dress and all my friends were going to be there.”
“That sounds like a lot of fun, Eloisa. Can you tell me where you are?”
“I don’t know. I’m lost. It’s dark here. I’m cold.”
“Hang on, I’m going to call the police.”
The little girl started to sob. Almost incoherently, she started to plead. “Please, no police. I won’t be able to go home if you call the police and my Aunt Maria won’t be there anymore. They’re gonna take her away like they took my mommy.”

I didn’t know what to say. Before I could formulate a sentence I heard a loud bang in the background, and laughter. Almost maniacal. The phone hung up and I was left with my home screen, taunting me in its normalcy. I was at a loss as to what to do and who to call for help. I felt that I had no option other than to believe the girl when she said I shouldn’t call the police. She wasn’t wrong. When was the last time the cops had really helped with anything in this community? Indeed, this singular phone call had already changed my life for good, but I didn’t quite know how yet.

Sort:  

Very sad. And made me think of the videos and the sounds we've all been seeing over the last few days. Heart breaking. Really well written.

Yeah, that was definitely the inspiration. Thank you for reading!

Very mysterious... feels like our protagonist is on the verge of being dragged into events well beyond their control. Is this a standalone piece or is there more coming? It would work as both although it definitely changes how you read it. Such a tantalising write!

Thank you! It was a freewrite so I actually have no idea where I was going with it. I had all the poor kids at the border on my mind... :/

flop idea

Tell me more...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-19T21:46:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 134.20/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This little story left me with many questions. It certainly could turn into a longer story if you felt so inclined!

Oh, no! What a maddening situation! No police, but what if something awful is happening. Can you star 69 or something?
Great freewrite!

This one left me with mixed feelings.. it's because I believe I would get sleepless nights if something like this really happened to me.

I love your style of writing and the way you put up your sentences together. I'm just not that fond of the theme but this is a personal choice as I am not good with dealing with sad/frightening/mystical situations :)

But if you would ever write a book I would for sure read it!

Great story. A terrible feeling never to know what was going on.
It’s the Wednesday free write encouraging team here with your prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-244-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wood

I love the way you narrate. It's a very engaging text, will it continue?

I don't think so... I don't really know where it was going. But maybe!

Thank you for reading!

You have heart and the world needs heart! :-) I love the way you write.