Neil Armstrong walks on the MOON!! 50 years ago and other events.

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

moon.jpg
image By NASA

Was talking with that sweetheart Snook today and she made reference to someone we all know and love being in his 40's.

I thought about it for a second and realized "Hey I am in my 40's........for 4 more days".

Yuppers I was born on the day that a cocky test pilot turned astronaut named Neil Armstrong walked on the moon. July 20, 1969

I have had it explained to me both ways.
Some have said it went like this: person 1 "Hey did you hear Neil Armstrong just walked on the moon?"
person 2 "Who cares, Naltedtirt was just born!"

While others have it switched around saying "who cares he was born Neil Armstrong just walked on the moon!"

Yes, sir and ma'am, I am coming up on 50 years, half a century, old enough to know better, act like I am 14 half the time, know just enough about things to be a little dangerous to myself or others....lol

Growing up I had 3 sets of grandparents. My mom's biological parents, the people that raised her and my dad's parents.
The people that raised my mom were grandparents to me and my "grandfather" had the exact birthday as myself (except the year was a lot different). That was always special for him and for me.

I remember once when I was 4, my grandpa told me not to do something and I did it anyway. He said he was going to spank me and I ran out the door and hid behind a woodpile. He pretended to hunt for me but did not find me. I waited behind the woodpile for 10 minutes or so then returned to the house as if nothing had happened. My grandpa did not spank me.

My grandpa told me a story about the first automobile he ever saw. He said he was walking down a country road and all of a sudden a car came around the corner. My grandpa was so scared he jumped a fence, tore his pants and climbed a tree.

Once (around that same time period in my life I got in trouble at my father's parents house. My mom and dad were both there. My Grandma seeing that I was in trouble said: "run to granny, run to granny!"

So I ran to her. She knew my parents wouldn't rip me out of her arms. They didn't.

The time came to go home and it was all smiles...until I got in the car.

My mom and dad took turns beating on me the whole way home. lol

Needless to say I never "ran to granny" again.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Not a big Toby Keith fan but this song kept playing in my head. No, I did not write it. I am using it in this fun post. Never watched the video before until today.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

A funny thing happened today. I went to the store and got a few items including a 6 pack of my favorite wheat beer. I put the bags in my car and pushed the small carts to one of those "corral" areas.

I could have left a bag underneath but I don't remember seeing one.

Drove home. The way I drive it was only an 8-minute drive.

I started carrying the groceries in. No Beer.

Drove back to the grocery store.

The cashier said, "Did I overcharge you for something?" I said, "I didn't get my beer" as I clutched my receipt. She said to me, "go get some more if you want. Which bagger was it"

The kid that had been bagging groceries ran out the door and across the parking lot. He ran like a bear was after him. He went to a white car and opened the door. I walked out of the store to see what he was doing. My son was with me and said "daddy he has it he has it!!

The kid came carrying the wheat beer I enjoy so much across the parking lot and handed it to me saying "you forgot it in the bottom of your cart".

I teased the lad and said, "you were going to drink my beer weren't you?"

The boy replied, "what kind is that?"
I said, "it's a wheat beer."
He said, "well I don't like that kind".

I was glad to get it back but was curious why it was on the seat of his car and not back in the store where it should have been. lol

Once again not a big Toby Keith fan but I do like this song also and since I am talking about beer here is another bar song.

If you shut your eyes and listen to it it might make you think he is singing about some of your friends here at Steemit or on Discord.

Gonna conclude the rambling. "It's my party I can try if I want to" lol
Thanks, friends. Thank you for being here.

@snook

@enginewitty (legendary Witness)
@saffisara (enchanting encourager)
@mariannewest (freewritequeen)
@tattoodjay
@nainaztengra
@brisby
@cresendoofpeace
@crisangel
@edthecanadian
@jackmiller
@jayna
@katrina-ariel
@rakassan84
@thehive
@kaerpediem
@latino.romano
@shadowspub
@inthenow
@princessmewmew
@cOff33a
@guiltyparties
@theswedishdragon
@thesilverdoll
@eveningart
@movement19
@veryspider
@dreemsteem
@kerrislravenhill

Sort:  

Love the last video and the story about your beer is priceless :D

Happy early Birthday!!!

You have the prettiest Avatars!! Thanks much!

Yep.

Know that first song pretty well.

Happy birthday brother.

& PS.

This part of history they kinda left out, so don't worry about Neil, he's still having nightmares about having to pick the lock on that damn tin can!

LOL I should have put...For those of you that believed it really happened. lol

Hahahahaahaaaaa!

Well said!

Thank you my friend.

& the gift of a lifetime is a good ol' sincere laugh!

Watch the first commercial!

Had to watch them all!! ROTFL

Whew! Made the cut 😁 barely! Lolol

Hubby was born exactly 2 days before you!!! He will have to tell you how the next half century I'd on Friday hehehe

Happy birthday 🎂 loved all the stories!

😊

There were no Zombies or Demons so I saved the best for last. You are a bright spot in the day!!

😁😘😍😗

Dreemy celeb appearance!

Lololol crazy lovely lady 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Was born in July
Eyes were on the moon landing
Neil the space man walked

Was born in July
Eyes were on the moon landing
Neil the space man walked

                 - naltedtirt


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I am naltedtirt
I detect Bots

Nobody messes with grandma, do they?

Maybe that kid had one of those refrigerautos. You know, those cars that become fridges when you're not in them?

Not sure the employee handbook says anything about stashing groceries in you your car.

Are you talking about a transformer type car that is a car but when the battle starts turns into a fridge full of beer so the other tranformers can have a drink after the battle.

Interesting. I hadn't considered a transformer. That adds a whole new element to this story.

But it's quite clear, this kid was stealing your beer. Sounds like a country song.

The young bagging lad was wearing a pin that read "RID" which I am guessing means: ROBOTS IN DISGUISE.

Thank you naltedtirt! You've just received an upvote of 73% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Why thank you mr Jolly. I can always count on you to stop by.

Why thank you mr
Jolly. I can always count
On you to stop by.

                 - naltedtirt


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Again you stopped by
Thank you much for the support
You are the best bot

Ha ha! Happy Birthday hombre! Good thing that boy doesn't like wheat beer😂🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

I am suprised it wasn't a 3 pack when I got it 8 minutes later lol.

Tonight I hit the Haiku jackpot!!

WE HAVE THE SAME BIRTHDAY!!!!!

But I am younger than you! 😍

July 20 babies rock!

We rock!! I have heard July 20 babies are the coolest.

If you are any indication it's true.

Happy Birthday!!! 🎂

Happy birthday to you!!!

What a colorful response!! Thank you Sir!!

Happy Birthday and welcome to 50... I was an April baby.

You are a diamond birthstone!! That's a good one.

yes, it's just a pity that I can't afford to wear them... but a girl can always dream can't she?

They say "diamonds are a girls best friend"

"I choose coffee, dogs, peace and love" I like that!!

Happy Birthday 🍻
The wonderful thing about hitting these big numbers is the stories that come with it and I loved your stories

Yes it is your birthday and I am throwing a Stevie at you

Wishing you an amazing one 😊

*PS: You threw me off with your fiction tag. But perhaps because of that Armstrong character 😉

It all is true. I got up to go to the fridge while it was posting and the fiction tag must have been entered in my absence. 🤔

Wonder how that happened?
Perhaps you were typing FreeWrite and it did an autocorrect on you ;p

I can honestly say....i have never hadva Stevie thrown at me before thank you.

Hey, it's your 50th!!!
Gotta do something special :D

The fiction tag could have been put there to appease the flat Earth readers. Ha

Now, that makes sense ;p

I HOPE YOU HAVE A LOVELY BIRTHDAY!!

You are so sweet thank you!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanl you thank you whoever C-squared my quaint post

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Wowzers @veryspider you are awesome and a true blessing

So Toby Keith loves the bar but likes his girlfriend. He could take his girlfriend to the bar then. Enjoying a locally made cold crisp Apple cider when I posted this comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @naltedtirt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @naltedtirt!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 10 with 53 comments

Wow thank you!!!

You're welcome @naltedtirt

BTW, feel free to support back and vote for me as a witness if you like my work at promoting your posts.

Thank you!! I am gonna go have a listen.