[Fiction] Freedom of Speech | @vidyabanjan Original

in #fiction7 years ago

FREEDOM.jpg


I grew up to be an adult who was made to believe that “Freedom of speech” meant that you don't disagree with anybody’s opinion and your reply or opinions have to be pleasingly melodious to others and believe me I adhered to it so much that it became a habit and according to me it was the bestest habit that I incurred as I grew. In actual sense, it had caused a damaging impact on me, that I believed that anybody could walk in to me and ask me anything and I would appreciate it sincerely without an ounce of anger or displeasure.

Few instances would go like this...

I cut my hair short, and believe me I looked fab, until I bumped into few of my so called aunts and they were, God what have you done, that long beautiful hair has gone, your mom's hard work is gone, and I was mesmerized with the words “mom's hard work”, that was just hair Р. Though I had a good mind to tell them, that's my hair, my own hair, I stopped and just smiled, that's what I was taught since I was a baby.

The most nostalgic instance that still gives me goosebumps is when people walk into me and then tell, sorry advice (that's the term), why don't you have a second baby, you need a girl, you badly need one. (Please note that my first baby is a boy). I was spellbound by how people were upset that me and my hubby had put the eggs and sperms at utter waste without converting them into a second baby and that too a girl. And all I did was smile again.

Then one day, I had an eye opener in the form of my son. I had almost dropped the plan of watching a movie just because the man I married was not keen on it. That's when my 10 yr old took the responsibility on his shoulders and looking straight at the father, with clear tone stated, “we are going to the movie, you come or not, we will enjoy and our happiness (mine and his) right now matters”. I was transported to a different level when I heard him say that. Now that's called freedom of speech, stating what you want, your opinion in a clear, crisp manner without dramatizing the situation, what comes in the mind, the mouth talks. Now at 38, I have a teacher who is improvising the so called bestest characters I had. Change is for the good isn't it!?
Now I really want to meet those aunts again, see I am totally prepared.

Vidya


Would you please consider an upvote and follow me at @vidyabanjan?