Sort:  

These kind of films are needed these days more than ever. There are so many Afghanistan and Iraq war vets with serious PTSD. Just look at what happened with that tragic veteran center shooting in California.

I agree. More attention needs to be drawn to PTSD, not just for Veterans, but for anyone suffering. They need to know that there is help out there and that it will get better for them.

FUCK THAT SHIT WAR IS HOT FUCK US ALL IN THE AS U PUSSY EASS BITCHES

Loading...

Amazing Brother! really makes you realize a lot even about myself and my PTSD. I was in tears the second I saw the raw emotion Lynn expressed while talking, that its along road ahead. Stay the course brother.

People like you are the reason this film was made. If you ever need someone to talk to, you know where I am. I am always here for you brother.

Hi @Derangedvisions, this is truly an amazing post. The documentary might be long, but def. worth watching! I hope that with creating the film and taking the photographs this helped you out. Spending that much time on a project is a pain, but the results are rewarding, double rewarding for you. Great work!

Thank you. I really hope that this film is able to reach a large audience so that those that are in need of its message can receive it.

Amazing documentary. It is through these stories that I am able to learn what my father and some older friends experienced. It is an unspeakable event for many of them, the ones I am closest to are zip lipped.

Our son is also in the Army now so this allows us to pick up on more things we may have previously over looked. Thank you for the share.

Thank you for taking the time to watch the film and learn about Lynn's story. I am a veteran of 10 years and spent a few year in combat myself and when I made this film with Lynn, we wanted to tell the story of those that are "zip lipped" because we know that it is very hard for them to reach out and ask for help, but we also know that they are desperately wishing that they had the strength to ask for help. We wanted those that know and love those that are suffering from PTSD to be able to understand what they are going through and be able to support them in the best way possible. I wish you the best @erodedthoughts and I appreciate your support.

I am behind you, @derangedvisions. Always know that I am in your team. Keep making, keep doing, you have it in you to succeed in these crafts you do. All the best!

I must say I am very impressed by it... I will do what I can to reach as much people as possible. See https://steemit.com/film/@wakeupkitty/catching-film-you-should-watch

Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed it

Wow what an impressive labor of love you have shared with us here. This is really amazing, both in terms of the quality and also for what it can do to help in the healing process. Happy to resteem this to get more eyes on it. I also come bearing some good news in the effort to get more exposure for this post:

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Thank you. I am still overwhelmed at the response that this has gotten. I really appreciate the attention you are helping to bring to this film. The message is one that needs to be shared with many.

Please upload it to Dtube also, I wish projects like this get more views. You get my follow and a Resteem to 1200+ followers!

I really appreciate it. I am going to be working on uploading it to Dtube in the future. That was my original plan, but after a 4 hour upload I got an error message and it stalled and I was getting close to my release deadline that I had set for my original audience. I had no clue that it would be so well received. I am glad that you enjoyed it.

It's certainly topical. In the new era of the professional all-volunteer American military, soldiers killed and physically wounded have gone way down - but cases of war-related PTSD have gone way up.

If you count PTSD as a regular war wound, the wound count is up there with the counts in the conscript days.

Something's really wrong here.

War and PTSD have always gone hand in hand. I think we are seeing a large increase in cases of war-related PTSD numbers now because we are finally realizing how to diagnose it.

That could be...or it could be caused by the military being misused, in a "use a hammer as a screwdriver" way. I've read a lot of complaints about too-restrictive ROEs.

The restrictive ROE could also be one reason why wars drag out for so long. But I think that is a discussion for another day.

That was great, brother! Many families do not understand PTSD and do not know how to deal with it when their loved ones come home. I am sorry but the VA does not really help at all, they just throw drugs at it from my experience. The anger and the rage is the worst part for me as It keeps me separated mentally from my family so I do not scream at them because they did nothing wrong.

Thank you. I agree that many families do not understand, but a lot of Veterans also do not understand what they are going through at first also. It took me a while to come to terms that I had it, but due to the fact that I was in Law Enforcement after the military and scared of losing my job, I did not seek help. It took me a while to get help and it had reached a really bad point. My goal with this film is to educate families and the Veterans suffering from PTSD to be able to recognize in themselves that the symptoms and that they are not alone when it comes to what they are going through. We must come together for each other and not allow each other to suffer in silence. That is why we lose so many of us every day. If you ever need to talk, I am here for you brother.

@derangedvisions,

Wes ... incredible job. I absolutely loved it. I think you did a great job with everything. I think the choice of a Vietnam Vet to tell the story of PTSD was a particularly good idea. It lends a timelessness to the issue. Different time, different place ... same problem.

Same mud, same blood.

I think there's also something particularly meaningful about hearing it come from a couple of "older guys." I think the younger generation in general ought to spend more time listening to old folks' stories. The more technologically advanced we become, the more we're losing that "human touch."

I'll resteem and keeping plugging it everywhere I go.

Thanks for doing a great job.

Thank you @quillfire. Lynn is a great friend of mine and I only knew a little of what he had gone through before we filmed this. With the story of war and PTSD I wanted to show someone who had lived with it for many years and held it in for so long, but in doing so missed out on so much with family and friends, and once he got the help, it opened his eyes to everything he had been missing. Too many of us think that we are alone in our struggles and our family and friends wouldn't understand and can't help us. On the inside we are screaming for help but on the outside shutting everyone out. It is a horrible cycle that Lynn and I wanted to bring attention to with the message of this film. Thank you for your friendship and continued support.

Amazing Brother! really makes you realize a lot even about myself
Thank you. I really hope that this film is able to reach a large audience so that those that are in need of its message can receive it.

Thank you for taking the time to watch it and I am glad that its message was able to help you. If you are ever in need of an ear, I am hear for you brother.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by derangedvisions from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dealing with PTSD must've been pretty difficult. :) I haven't finished the video yet.

This will open other people's eyes on how PTSD can affect one's life.

You should've posted this on Dtube. ,:)

Oh trust me, I tried putting this on Dtube. That is why I missed the time I wanted to have this posted by this morning. I spent almost 4 hours uploading it and it got to about 80% and then I got an error and it froze. So instead of trying over again. I just went with my YouTube account. I haven't had much success with uploading to Dtube yet and the quality once it is on there isn't the best. Most of my stuff is in 1080p or 4K and Dtube downscales it quiet a bit.

I am glad you think that this can help people. You will have to let me know what you think when you finish it

I thought they just made some HD feature recently.

How about dlive? That one I haven't tried and checked thought.

Great job! You found yourself some terrific spokespersons for breaking the taboos on PTSD and I think your "interview technique" allowed them to testify in great dignity. One minor (personal) issue for me is where the background music is a little too present (too long) and if not quite distracting (for the narrative remains compelling) still a little superfluous. But this may be suitable for American audiences (I speak as a European).
Look forward to your next film, but I can't imagine there will be one soon, for I can well see all of those hundred hours it takes to make something like this (if not more if we include the research for the great additional inserts found in all sorts of archives, no doubt).

Thank you for taking the time to watch the film and I am glad that you enjoyed it. I agree that at some points the music does get a bit loud. I tried lowering the music and had some people watch it with the music lowered, but they felt that the music got their blood pumping and got them more engaged in the story when it was up a little more. With the music lower, it did not have the feeling I was going for when I scored the music for the film.

I am planning more films right now, but they will not be of this magnitude for a while. My next big one I have planned will probably be in about a year when I return to Africa and start filming for a documentary of the people there.

Very good post!
Let me follow you and resteem yours!

Thanks for putting this out there. I don't think many "normal" people understand how damaging warfare can be on those involved. You should totally upload to d.tube, I think it would be worth your while doing so, if you are able to.

Thank you @imjustsaying. War is such a horrible thing that has such lasting effects not only for the combatants, but also for those indirectly involved that are just caught in the crossfires of the governments that can not seem to get along. My heart aches for all of the innocent families that lose loved ones around the world due to the war machine, but that is a whole new discussion in itself.

I will look into Dtube as well.

I have not had a chance to watch a full movie, just a trailer version of it which already speaks for itself. Great to have so many talented people joining Steemit at its early stages. Great job Wes! Tomas

PS: You should post it on DTube as well to get more exposure!

Dtube has a upload size limit and takes 25%.
I'm not sure about @dlive, but they dont take 25%, and they engage with you, trying to make dlive better.

Thank you Tomas. You have been a great supporter of mine since I started on Steemit and I truly appreciate everything you have done for the creators here on this platform. I am glad that you enjoyed the trailer for the film. I will look into Dtube as well once I figure more out about that platform and how it operates.

this truly deserves to be on my trending page, good work my friend! If i only had bigger upvote power... :)

Thank you for your kind words and I am glad that you think this is deserving of a larger audience. When I decided to make this film with Lynn, our main goal was to spread its message to as many people as possible. There are so many people that can benefit from it, not just the veteran community, but anyone suffering from Post Traumatic Stress.

amazing post,,i think this movie pleasure to me,,thanks for sharing

Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed it

Good post

and link to d.tube version?

Dtube version may be in future. I had originally tried it, but after 4 hours of uploading, it failed and I was getting close to my promised release time.

oh my...
Dear @derangedvisions as videoart I would like to share with you my thoughts about your project wihout of course promote my thoughts as negative.

Your work is really good. Outstanding and reveals what it need.
My first thoughts from the intro and the first clock circles are that there will be a great art. (Maybe this is my fault because I watch other creator's moves as peace of art) but for an unknown reason from the middle till the end, I can see a great production with true story of war, and a video useful for capturing a great newsletter's article.

Maybe I am wrong, but those are my feelings.

But this is for sure a great work. Welldone.

Thank you @otsouvalas. I really appreciate your kind words. I spent a lot of time on this project and Lynn and I had a specific message we wanted to get out to the audience it would reach. I am really glad you have taken the time to watch the film and that it was able to touch you.

I always try to spend time on projects that look that they have something to give. Learning from others makes me better and able to make further steps.

Muy buena película, tiene buena realización. Concuerdo en que la guerra solo deja heridos.

Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo para ver mi película. La guerra deja a las personas heridas, pero debemos ayudarlos a sanar y darles esperanza. Gracias por sus amables palabras.

Wow this is very nice, give us inspiration to get better again :]

Thank you. I appreciate you taking the time to come and watch the film.

Congratulations @derangedvisions!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 240,01

Wow. This is surreal. Thank you for the mention.

Oh my... I cant express how powerful this is. The tears were hard to hold back on this one.
I applaud you and everyone that made this film possible. I felt every emotion. My heart goes out to you all.

Thank you. It was hard to be in the room and keep my composure when they were telling their stories because I could relate to a lot of the feelings they were describing. Then to be alone in the editing room for countless hours hearing it over and over again just reinforced the importance of Lynn's story. Lynn and Terry are both really great guys and Lynn will be so excited to hear of the success the film is having reaching an audience on Steemit.

Thank you so much for taking the time to watch the film and I am glad that you were touched by its message.

I never even thought about the after part with editing. I don't know everything that goes in to film making, hard - I would imagine is not right word to do it justice.
To be there face to face, hearing what these men had to say... How are you feeling with the release of the film and it's success?

I am overwhelmed with the response that it has received so far. That is what is so great about the Steemit community. There are so many people here that are supporting each other and that is awesome. I think there are so many people on here that have so much to offer everyone and this is such a good platform for them to be discovered.

I agree, I think you are awesome, fo making this film and sharing it to the world and for seeing the people :) thank you!

While watching your touching film and feeling for all people that go through so terrible experiences and have to live their life with their consequences, I couldn't stop thinking of a video I watched many years ago when I was first introduced to EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) or Tapping, an energy psychology method. It dealt with a few stories of war veterans with severe PSTD that underwent a week of EFT therapy with certified EFT practitioners and its founder, Gary Craig: EFT for War Veterans with PTSD by EFT Tapping
Trust me, it's really worth watching. Many could give it a try.
Link to the video:


Offcial EFT site: www.emofree.com

Yay!!! Congrats on the curie and this is amazing work. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Eagle UpComm.jpg

This is so exciting! Congrats! Will have to bookmark this to watch It in full. I hope this documentary reaches so many people and help all who are suffering from PTSD. Thank you for your service.

You are welcome and thank you for stopping by to watch my film

wow fantastic storytelling!

Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed it.

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Congratulations on releasing your film @derangedvisions, I still have not had time to watch but I have it bookmarked for sometime this week hopefully! It looks like you had a successful launch!

Thank you. The response has been overwhelming. Let me know on Discord what you think of it when you are able to watch it.

So Proud to have you in our UNIT!
Great Job, and I see the Steemit Community is starting to recognize you as well. Awesome Stuff, Soldier!
MARINE SALUTES.png

Thanks. It is always good to be helping people out in any way I can.

So let's sing Edwin Star song......whuuuuuuuuhhh WaRrrrr what is good for absolutely nothing.

came in to give my full upvote just in case I don't get the time before the seven days are up. will share my thoughts on the full documentary once I watch it all.

I appreciate it @svkrulze. I hope you enjoy it when you get the time to watch it.

Thanks, interesting movie.

I'm with Eisenhower. I've known two vets, up close. One, years ago, was a WWII vet. He had been a prisoner of war on a German ship. The ship was bombed by Allies and he was rescued. He was found under a pile of bodies. He lived the rest of his life a virtual shell. From time to time he would rest in the VA hospital and than at other times would live quietly under the watchful eye of brothers and sisters. Another vet, from Vietnam, seemed to make a successful transition, but years later, when describing his experience, didn't talk so much about fear but about numbness, about being brutalized by the indifference of his leaders to his well-being. I think it's the numbness more than anything that stayed with him and changed his life. This is a great film. It doesn't excoriate the military, but it does ask us to question the structure, the concept of organized conflict. Young people are recruited before they're formed. They really aren't independent thinkers yet. Their minds are molded so they will be "good soldiers". I think the heart of the film for me, was in the commentary by Holgren (did I get that name right?). Soldiers go to war and America goes shopping. But it's not America. It's the history of warfare--until it comes to your house.
Thank you for investing your time and creative effort to frame a necessary message. Sharing on Twitter and resteeming.

That is such a sad story about the WWII vet that you knew. Only he knew of the hardships that he had to endure during his life. My heart breaks for those that have had to live their life in silence because the outside world would not understand the atrocities that they have had to face. War is a horrible thing in this world destroys so many lives, and you are right about what Sheldon Holgreen said about while the Soldier is at war, America is at the mall. That is one of the main points in this film is that while the soldiers are fighting wars, they are often forgotten about, and when they come home, they may seem fine on the outside, they are still in torment from what they have been through. My hope was to bring awareness to the struggles that those suffering from Post Traumatic Stress go through and to let them know they are not alone and to inform the friends and family of those suffering what their loved ones may be experiencing so they can be a better support for them. Thank you for taking the time to watch the film and I am glad that you got something out of it.

Awesome job, I certainly gained some insights that might help the next time I have the pleasure of speaking with a war Veteran, or anyone else who has endured a traumatic event.

Thank you for taking the time watch the video and sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I am glad that you were able to take away something from the film.

I watched it yesterday and boy was I gripped!!! Brilliant portrayal of a person's innermost vulnerabilities and his fight to win those over!!!

Splendid script, it kept getting better with every section. I had initially thought that the events in Vietnam would be the high point, but the last section on PTSD just blew me away.

Hat's off, man!! Every minute was worth it.

Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed it

Awesome. I don't have time to watch this now, but I will come back to it later when I do.

This is incredible. I wish I could resteem.