Heading Off To Film School - Advice? Tips? Tricks? HELP

in #film6 years ago

If all things go to plan, I shall be going off to study Film at university in September!


I'm very excited by this because instead of heading off to uni straight after I finished high school, I went to college instead to do a 2 year Creative Media Production course (basically just film and other bits).

This is just a mini post to ask people for advice, such as what should I expect once I'm there? Or what should I be doing to prepare? Are there any books or videos that I should read/watch in order to prepare?

Don't get me wrong, I know I don't need to study film at uni in order to do stuff with it. I'm going not only to learn but also to gain more experience and grow as a person.

I want to make connections with people who are studying film and love it too.

My goal at the moment is to work as an editor, preferably in a company, while making my own videos on the side. However, I'd also like to experiment in other areas such as being a director.

In my free time I devour TV shows and film alike. Although, I definitely need to go watch films in the cinema more often as it definitely is an entirely different way to experience a film.
I've started to slowly try to compile a list of '100 Films to Watch Before Film School' which I shall be posting about again pretty soon!

I also like to make my own videos in order to practice developing ideas, using a camera and editing.
I definitely need to start creating more short films as well as getting my friends/peers involved in order to develop my team working skills (and everything else).

So that concludes this post! Please leave a comment with anything you'd like to add, such as resources, helpful advice or even your own experiences.

Thanks so much!