Baby Driver (2017) - REVIEW 📝✏️

in #film7 years ago

This film is called one of the most misjudged films of this year. Let's see if that's true.


Image source

Plot: A young guy named Baby loves music and a fast ride. His life is chasing. He drives from point A to point B, helping the bandits escape from the crime scene. But after meeting the girl and paying off the debt, he wants to quit the game.

Trailer

Cast

  • Ansel Elgort as Baby. I thought I saw him for the first time but then I realized that I saw him in The Fault in Our Stars and Divergent. Ansel Elgort reminds me young Leonardo DiCaprio because of a sweet face. He perfectly embodied the image of a laconic guy absorbed in the music. Despite his young age, he has a code of honor. His dance in the car was so funny and awesome.
  • Kevin Spacey as Doc. Gosh, I love Frank Underwood. I can not control myself when I see Kevin Spacey. He's just perfect but it doesn't mean his character is perfect. His character is predictable and he acts illogically at the end.
  • Jamie Foxx as Bats. His hero seemed to me too ostentatious, but I like this actor and I have not seen him for a long time. Bats wants to shoot everyone around and he gets such an opportunity a couple of times.
  • Lily James as Debora. A good girl is too right and naive. She showed her emotions at the end of the film. I do not like this actress because of the big mouth and it's hard for me to look at her. Also, I did not believe in their love with Baby.
  • Jon Hamm as Buddy. I did not feel his grief. He avenges because the script says "revenge".
  • Eiza González as Darling. Wow! She's really crazy. I believed her one hundred percent!

Music

To begin with, I do not like musicals. I do not understand why people start singing and dancing in the middle of a conversation. I knew that there will be a lot of music in this film and I thought "Nothing's okay". But the tracks fit well into the situation, in the plot. Everything looked very organic. This film is a paradise for a music lover. This music sets the tone for each scene and prepares us for incredible chases.

Story

It consists entirely of clichés. We have already seen it 100 thousand times. A villain who becomes good. A guy who falls in love with a stupid blonde and wants to quit. He's being blackmailed of course. And the final chase. The only thing that surprises in this story is the finale. It was the breath of fresh air.
The plot is very banal, the dialogues are not filled with meaning. Logic is absent sometimes. But at the same time Baby Driver is very cool. It has a gorgeous camera work, a constant drive and the chase scenes took my breath away.
Baby Driver is certainly a hit of this year. It's a good action movie, but do not expect any sense from it. This movie is good with popcorn, not with thoughts.
I did not expect such a dirty trick from the director Edgar Wright. I remember his awesome movies such as Shaun of the Dead, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. They are full of sly humor and interesting stories. I think Edgar Wright took a wrong turn.

Sort:  

Wow nice write ups, thanks for sharing

have you seen this movie already?

No i haven't seen this movie but i will see in future.

I've just seen this movie last weekend. It's one of those films that is good enough to see one time, but you would never want to see it again. Good action sequences but Doc killed all logic for me... I still wonder why he did what he did...totally derailed

I was so surprised! It was like "WHAT????". He was so prudent during the movie!

yeah, total smash cut))

thanks for sharing!

I liked this movie even if it's a movie that's enough to see it once.My rating 8/10.