My compilation of documentaries about animals

in #film7 years ago

Hello!


I'm going to share documentaries and TV series about animals and birds that I liked. I hope everyone watched the wonderful BBC series: Planet Earth. The second season of which was released in 2016. So I will not write about it.

But first I want to share the insanely, insanely beautiful trailer of the film Awaken. It is not about animals but rather about the unity of a human with technology and nature. The film will be released in 2018, directed by Tom Lowe.

Now I'm watching the TV series Bronx Zoo, 2016. The first season consists of 8 series, in which we will be told about the work of the zoo itself and its employees. The audience will be shown how they prepare food for animals (day and night), treat, carry on MRI, do X-rays, feed babies abandoned by their mothers, make a decision to put them to sleep. Each series is devoted to several animals and employees who work with them. It is very interesting to look at the work of the zoo from the inside.

Image source
In the zoo of Budapest or Vienna, I saw an amazing thing - an anthill was hidden under a glass, from it, there were tubes through which ants dragged into the main anthill leaves). Each stage of the movement of ants could be seen. I was under such a strong impression that I started looking for movies about ants and found an interesting movie Planet Ant: Life Inside the Colony, 2012.

Image source
Plot: By assembling a specially designed massive and full-scale anthill, entomologist George C. McGavin and expert on leaf-cutting ants, Professor Adam Hart, have been observing a multimillion colony of leaf-cutting ants from Trinidad for a month. Using time-lapse cameras, microscopes, microphones, and radio tracking technologies, they explore how these tiny insects can reach such exciting heights of collective organization.

My favorite TV series Growing Up (lion, tiger, cheetah, black leopard, lynx, clouded leopard), 2003-2004) tells about the feeding and nursing of lion cubs, tiger, cheetah, black leopard, clouded leopard, and lynx. From this film, I learned that there is such a profession - a nanny for young cubs). They live with their nanny at home until 3 months, she is like a real mother to them. After viewing these series, I realized who I would like to become).

Another interesting three-part series - BBC: Tiger. Spy in the Jungle, 2008. In order to capture the most intimate moments of life of tigers, the creators attached cameras to elephants and follow the tigers.

Image source

An extremely nervous film about the journey of a bear and her cubs - Polar Bear Spy on the Ice, 2010. She needs not only to feed the cubs but also to avoid a collision with male bears, who will gladly eat small cubs.

Image source

A film about killer whales - BBC: Wildlife Special - Killer Whale, 2003. You will be surprised at how smart this mammal is. And sometimes they kill not only for food but also for pleasure. Looks like a human, huh?)

And of course, I watched almost all the films with Sir David Attenborough. He is already 91 years old, but he continues to work, despite the fact that he announced his retirement. If you have not watched his films, then I recommend starting with the Frozen Planet, 2011 about life on the North Pole, and then proceed to the huge cycle "Life ..".

Also, I watch the zoo channels on YouTube:

Sort:  

Amazing pictures of Awaken trailer, it is like 3D effect. We are very lucky living today and are able to enjoy all this beauty of our planet. Therefore, I can't understand some people who don't care and disposing garbage in to rivers, seas and oceans, as well as just drop on streets. Let us please to save it for next generations

I hope we'll see Awaken in IMAX. you're absolutely right about the destruction of the planet. I think some processes are irreversible.